Rulers of Kid’s Castle Playground PLUS a Giveaway!

Rulers of the Playground and the trip it inspired to Kid's Castle Playground in Doylestown, PA

I’m always up for a road trip, especially if it involves an adventure with my kids. My friend Lauren feels the same way, so we frequently go on excursions together. Earlier this spring, we visited Kid’s Castle Playground in Doylestown, PA. We packed up 5 kids to explore this amazing playground. With so many little ones, we found it hard to truly experience all the park grounds had to offer so we scheduled a day during the summer to come back with a picnic lunch and our husbands! With the kid to adult ratio slightly more balance and a better understanding of the facilities and nearby destinations, we truly got to experience the best of the amazing site.

*This post may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase through a link, we may get a small commission.

Kid’s Castle Playground – Doylestown, PA

Exterior of the Castle at Kid's Castle Playground in Doylestown, PAView of the pirate ship at Kid's Castle Playground in Doylestown, PA

We started our adventure at the actual playground part of Central Park. When we visited Kid’s Castle playground the first time, the children mostly explored the smaller playground parts outside of the main castle. Once again, the children started outside the castle. There are climbing spaces, bouncing rides, swings, rope bridges, and the coolest drop zone, but our kids initially spent a lot of time at the Pirate Ship. The ship includes slides, steering wheels and a hideout under the vessel which is great for sunny days.

Inside the main castle of Kid's Castle Playground - Doylestown, PAChecking out the view at Kid's Castle Playground in Doylestown, PA

The kids saw soccer and baseball fields, the creek and even the houses beyond the park! After playing around for a few hours, though, the kids grew restless and hungry. At that point, we walked up a hill to an open air pavilion. There were picnic tables scattered throughout for us to relax on while we scarfed down our homemade eats. Afterward, the kids rode their bikes and scooters around on the flattop. Then we threw balls, practiced rolling down hills and playing tag.

Open air pavilion at Central Park in Doylestown, PA
Before the day was through, we enjoyed an ice cream treat at Sweet Pea in downtown Doylestown before hitting up the Doylestown Bookshop (which I reviewed earlier this year summer.) We had to use our first aid kit once or twice, but all in all, it was a great afternoon and I would recommend Kid’s Castle playground to anyone with little ones!

Rulers of the Playground

Review of Rulers of the Playground by Joseph Kuefler, my favorite picture book of 2017!

If you know me, you know that I ALWAYS like to have books in my car to keep the kids entertained. On this particular trip, I made sure to bring our new copy of Rulers of the Playground by Joseph Kuefler. This book is my favorite kids’ book of the year so far. I absolutely adore it. The illustrations are adorable but the moral of the story is even better. Jonah decides he wants to be King of the Playground, while Lennox decides she wants to be Queen. Soon the children are conquering various playground equipment. This clever take on playground politics works on so many levels. It can be used to explain the political parties of today or historical battles of the past. The book also showcases how working to satisfy one person, may not be the best for all people. Rulers of the Playground is cleverly done and very entertaining… and we are giving away 2 copies!!!

The Giveaway

One copy of Rulers of the Playground will be available through an entry on the blog. Enter the drawing up to 4 times through Rafflecopter. A winner will be chosen at random at 12:00 AM EST on August 21st by Random.com and will be notified by email within 48 hrs.

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

We are also giving away a second copy of the book on Instagram. You can enter that contest by following us on Instagram and tagging 3 friends on the giveaway post. A winner will be chosen at random at 12:00 AM EST on August 21st by Random.com and will be notified by email within 48 hrs.

Rulers of Kid’s Castle Playground PLUS a Giveaway!Rulers of the Playground by Joseph Kuefler
Published by HarperCollins on April 18th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Imagination & Play, Social Themes, Friendship, Sports & Recreation, General
Pages: 48
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

A stunning picture book about sharing, friendship, and kindness in a playground setting from Joseph Kuefler, the author/illustrator of Beyond the Pond. Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Oliver Jeffers.

One morning, Jonah decided to become ruler of the playground.

Everyone agreed to obey his rules to play in King Jonah’s kingdom . . .

Everyone except for Lennox . . . because she wanted to rule the playground, too.

A gloriously rendered, hilariously deadpan tale of playground politics.

Giveaway opened to US and Canada. Ends on 8/20/17 at midnight. Submit up to 4 entries on the blog and 2 entries on Instagram.
five-stars