16 Books to Read if You Loved Sex and Vanity

Books to read if you loved Sex and Vanity

Sex and Vanity is a special book because while on the surface it’s a luxe, over-the-top romance, underneath it deals with microaggressions and racism. We compiled a list of books that fall into both categories to help you find your next read. You’ll see the glitzy, glamourous books that cover jet setters a  well as books with lessons addressing microaggressions and racism. Of the 16 books to read if you loved Sex and Vanity, only a few aren’t also romances too! Let us know in the comments which book you’d want to read next!

*Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you.

Over-the-Top Luxe Books to Read if You Loved Sex and Vanity

41zMeW47b8LDestination Wedding by Diksha Basu

I’m obsessed with Destination Wedding. It’s a wonderful read for the summer wedding season or all year round. I knew very little about Indian weddings but now I’m dying to be invited to one! They sound like so much fun!⁣ This book takes place in India, but the main character is American born. This could be a light, beach read, but instead, it’s more.

The author touches on racism, and what it means to be an American born child to parents who are from India. ⁣The feeling of not being at home in either location is explored in a way that I found very relevant to today. I actually highlighted a few lines because they were eye-opening to me.⁣ It’s a summer read that has heart.

been there married thatBeen There, Married That by Gigi Levangie Grazerir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=d5fd10bb0f4f346ebe61831394003c6c& cb=1599004844118

Thank you St. Martin’s Press for my copy of this book.  I started the book at the beginning of the pandemic and was not in the headspace to read anything.  I am glad that I was able to finish the book.  It is fun and light although at times I found it a little too much frivolity.  The book is hilarious in a War of the Roses meets Real Housewives kind of way.  At times I was laughing out loud but at other times, I kept thinking how predictable it was.  I was torn with how I feel about this book.

A Palm Beach Wife by Susannah Marrenir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=61c3cd5f5bfcbac49f2d400c21d7600d& cb=1561121720575

This story about a Palm Beach socialite whose marriage and finances are falling apart was fluffy and fun. It’s VERY heavy on the designer names, fancy restaurants, and chic surroundings, and I ate up every over-the-top description. I spend a tiny bit of time in Palm Beach each winter, so it was amazing to hear about the places I can vividly picture in my head. If you aren’t into fashion or name-dropping, this will not be for you. But it’s a candy delicious treat for a fashion-lover like me!

A star is bornA Star is Bored by Byron Laneir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=2d218089d1ff4f000f13adf493749d77& cb=1596292830491

A Star is Bored is a funny, yet poignant look at the life of a celebrity personal assistant.⁣ Charlie hates his life working on the graveyard shift as a writer for the news. When he miraculously lands his dream job as a personal assistant to Kathi Kannon, Hollywood royalty, he is sure that he is set for life.

Kathi is known for her last roles and her current crazy life. As Kathi and Charlie embark on trips and shopping sprees, they become more than just an employer and her enamored employee. Charlie must eventually come to terms with his life as his own leading man. ⁣ What a great first book by Byron Lane who was once a personal assistant to Carrie Fisher. This book is based on the author’s time in that job. Crazy, funny, and at times sad, I really enjoyed this book. ⁣Thank you to Bookspark and Henry Holt Books for my Advanced copy.

bergdorf blondes by plum sykesBergdorf Blondes by Plum Skyes

This charming debut from Plum Skyes was one of my favorite reads back in college. It’s over-the-top label naming and look inside the world of Manhattan’s elite had me googling places and things non-stop. While the fashions might be dated now, they will be nostalgic throwbacks for anyone living in the early ’00s.

crazy rich asiansCrazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwanir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=cd95c47ea09af14d7097b6d7137b4b8e& cb=1558704854077

Ready for some over-the-top wedding shenanigans? Kevin Kwan delivers! When a young man decides to bring his girlfriend home to Singapore for a wedding, she has no idea what to expect. She didn’t know he was crazy rich, that his family was crazy, and that everything in Singapore is more, more, more. The details in these pages were so vivid, I could picture everything! The movieir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=706a99c5636934e389f97a17ee62a96a& cb=1558704453892 was great too!

when life gives you luluWhen Life Gives You Lululemons by Lauren Weisbergerir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=5c94379f3b83e583885bffbff106c8f6& cb=1564533196635

What a fun beach read! Jackie read this one last year but I only just got around to it. Remember Emily from the Devil Wears Pradair?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=1e69937cb50fe5d934ebeba65b9d9460& cb=1564533149132? Well, she’s back and just as blunt and outrageous as ever. This time, Emily is an image consultant relocating to Connecticut to help her latest client get out of a scandal. Fluffy and fun, don’t expect anything serious in this book.

Christmas ShopaholicChristmas Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsellair?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=c385ef7808bd7d405c759477ef2000a6& cb=1571438695784

Thanks to Netgalley and Dial Press for my copy of this book, all opinions are my own. Omg with this book, ya’ll . I read the first book in the series a million years ago and I never kept up with more than a few books in the series. Still, I love Christmas, so I obviously jumped at the chance to read this book. After I read a different Xmas book earlier this month, I was nervous going into this read, but Becky Branson, née Bloomwood, did not disappoint! I found myself gasping, laughing, and crying numerous times during this book. Were the scenarios over-the-top? Absolutely. But I loved every page. I forgot just how enjoyable Becky’s antics are and her antics about motherhood actually clicked with me on a new level as a reader. Her heart-of-gold and Luke’s understanding of who she is, still give me all the gooey feelings though. If you are looking for a good Xmas book, I highly recommend this one!!!

movie star by lizzie pepper by hilary liftinMovie Star by Lizzie Pepper by Hilary Liftin

A fictionalized account of the TomKat relationship that was the talk of the town for quite a few years. Told from the perspective of the wife, Lizzie Pepper, we get a faux look at the world of Scientology and Hollywood. It’s over the top in the best way possible.

Romances that Deal with Microaggressions to Read if You Loved Sex and Vanity

love Hate and OtherLove, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

This is a realistic Young Adult book and I couldn’t be happier. It has a romantic element, but it also deals with racism, parental expectations, and cultural divides. Ahmed’s writing had me laughing, blushing, and crying tears of pain and happiness throughout the story. It was wonderfully written and I can’t wait to read her next book.

lovely warLovely War by Julie Berry

This fantasy/historical fiction combo has goddess Aphrodite telling her husband the story of two sets of lovers during World War 1. What made this book particularly good, was how it dealt with the bi-racial relationship in frank honestly, addressing the different views on such a relationship in Britain, France, and America respectively. The complication of mental health, PTSD, and war wounds make this a love story for the ages. I shed quite a few tears at the end.

41zMeW47b8LDestination Wedding by Diksha Basu

I’m obsessed with Destination Wedding. It’s a wonderful read for wedding season. I knew very little about Indian weddings but now I’m dying to be invited to one! They sound like so much fun!⁣ This book takes place in India, but the main character is American born. This could be a light, beach read, but instead it’s more.

The author touches on racism, and what it means to be an American born child to parents who are from India. ⁣The feeling of not being at home in either location is explored in a way that I found very relevant to today. I actually highlighted a few lines because they were eye-opening to me.⁣ It’s a summer read that has heart.

wedding dateThe Wedding Date by Jasmine Guilloryir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=bce1eb8d7152af5755e313b0045291a2& cb=1558704814329

I read this book and became smitten with Jasmone Guillory.  When Alexa Monroe gets stuck in an elevator with a good-looking guy, the last thing that she expects is a last-minute invitation to a wedding.  But, Drew is about to go to his ex’s wedding minus his plus one!  What starts out as just one date may turn into something more.  I love that Guillory is able to write fun, easy to read books that are not completely devoid of substance.  She does tackle some social issues in a way that is still light.  And, if you have read this, I loved The Proposal as well.

get a life chloe brownGet a Life Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbertir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=706c8c18933722d473cd2091599a5834& cb=1575161672600

This was a book that I totally enjoyed.  I read reviews that people didn’t like Chloe.  They thought she was whiny and annoying.  I completely disagree.  I thought that she was funny, quirky, and had more depth than I initially thought.  It is a well-written romance with a little more story than I usually find in this genre.  Thank you so much to Libro.fm for my copy of this book.

With the Fire on HighWith the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedoir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=c45debef1a8dd45f6ca620d1b0131253& cb=1596293365272

After Kirsten read this book, I knew I had to read it too because of her glowing review.  And, even though it was published last year, it made our top of 2020 so far.  I absolutely could not put this book down.  Besides making me very hungry, I loved Emoni’s story.  It is a true coming of age story of a young girl who must balance life, work, and family- especially her beloved daughter.  I loved this YA.

such a fun ageSuch a Fun Age by Kiley Reid

Such a Fun Age is a remarkable debut contemporary fiction from Philadelphia native Kiley Reid. This novel made me think and question the role our environment plays in who we are and who we become. ⁣ I love how the author addresses racism without drilling it in.  Rather, she shows what it looks like from the overt to the subtle. The book focuses on the relationship between an African -American woman who is a nanny and her employer who is a white woman. 

All the details available at 1 Over-the-top stories like Kevin Kwan's Sex and Vanity, perfect when you want a lighter read, with a bit of heart. 16 amazing books to read for fans of Sex and Vanity and Crazy Rich Asians. Copy of Our Kids 17 Favorite Picture Books of 2017 2 1 Over-the-top stories like Kevin Kwan's Sex and Vanity, perfect when you want a lighter read, with a bit of heart. 16 amazing books to read for fans of Sex and Vanity and Crazy Rich Asians. Over-the-top stories like Kevin Kwan's Sex and Vanity, perfect when you want a lighter read, with a bit of heart. 16 amazing books to read for fans of Sex and Vanity and Crazy Rich Asians.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

One Comment