23 of the Best Time Travel Books Like the Time Traveler’s Wife

Time Travel Header
23 of the Best Time Travel Books Like the Time Traveler's Wife 26

Time travel books are such a fun genre to read. Whether you love time travel romance books, contemporary fiction or are drawn to multiple lives, we have the best time travel books in one place.

I find it so interesting that the idea of time travel finds its way into so many different genres of books. Who would think that historical fiction would go with time travel and yet, just have a look at the phenomenon of Outlander.

I am not sure if that spark was the beginning of this amazing sub-genre of books but, I love each one on this list. If you are looking for books like The Time Traveler’s Wife, you will find some great options on this list.

*Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you.

Table of Contents

Best Time Travel Romance Books

Outlander  by Diana Gabaldon and more time travel books

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

How do we love Outlander? We cannot count the ways. The ninth book in the series, Go Tell the Bees That I am Gone, will be released on November 23, 2021.

This epic story begins in 1945 when Claire Randall and her husband take a second honeymoon to the Scottish Highlands to celebrate being reunited after the war. When Claire touches one of the standing stones, she is transported to 1743.

This is when the real story begins. In order to stay safe as an English women in Scotland, she must depend on Jamie Frasier for protection. Amazing history, magical realism, romance and witches overflow in this iconic epic saga.

Are you obsessed with outlander like we are? We have a list of more Books Like Outlander.

discovery of witches

Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

If you love the witch aspect of Harry Potter, Vampires, fantasy books, or time travel books then you will love this trilogy. This fantasy novel explores the history of witches, demons, and vampires.

Diana Bishop is a witch who accidentally recovers an ancient book that has been missing for hundreds of years. In doing so, she triggers her long-forgotten magic and opens the door for vampires, witches, and demons to search out Diana and the book.

This book about secret societies, witches, vampires, and more is a blend of heart-pounding action, historical fiction, and romance with the perfect mix of fantasy as well. If you have read this dark academia novel and loved it, you should check out our 9 Magical Books Like A Discovery of Witches!

If you love witch books, we have a list of Books About Witches to read now.

rose garden by susanna kearsley


The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley

I read this book in only a few days because I loved it so much.  This is another book that I read this month that is perfect for fans of Outlander.

After Eva’s sister dies, she heads back to Cornwall England to find peace and rest.  What she discovers is more than she expects when she finds herself inexplicably back in time.  As her heart begins to feel again, can she find a way to heal her broken heart and find love?

The Time Traveler's Wife and more of the best time travel books.

The Time Traveler’s Wife By Audrey Niffenegger

Clare and Henry have an unusual love story. They’ve known each other since Clare was six and Henry was thirty-six, but got married when Clare was twenty-three and Henry was thirty-one. How? Henry inadvertently travels through time.  

I adore how this story explores very real challenges that any couple faces. With the added time travel element, it become an unforgettable read.

Henry and Clare’s story is one of my all-time favorites and it shouldn’t be missed. 

Best Time Travel Books Like Outlander

A Knight in Shining Armor

A Knight in Shining Armor by Jude Deveraux

This set-up is the same as Outlander but in reverse! In the first part of the book, Dougless accidentally summons an Earl from the 16th century to modern England!

Dougless vowels to help return Nicholas to his own time, but not before trying to help him figure out who framed him for treason in his own era. But when he’s sent back and nothing changes, Dougless needs to head back to his time and try to save his life.

The attention to detail in the 16th century was reminiscent of Diana Gabaldon’s work. Its a total must-read for fans of Jamie and Claire’s love story.

The Librarians

The Librarian by Christy Sloat

This is the perfect book for fans of Outlander! When Emme’s grandmother dies, she agrees to take over Gram’s library despite plans to head to college abroad.

When she opens a book from Gra’s special collection, she finds herself face to face with Jack Ridgewell in  1892 England.  Emme is part of an elite group of women who can travel to the past through books.  This brings a whole new meaning to book boyfriend.

Scribe of Siena by Melodie Winawer more of the best time travel books.

Scribe of Siena by Melodie Winawer

A perfect summer read about a neurosurgeon who is transported back to Siena in the time of the plague.  The narrative makes me feel like I am in Italy.  

Depicted as Outlander meets Girl with a Pearl Earring, at its heart, it is a love story. I could not put it down and finished it as a perfect start to the summer reading season.

Do you love Outlander? Check out these books!

Best Contemporary Fiction Time Travel Books Like the Time Traveler’s Wife

Mona Out of Order and more more of the best time travel books.

Oona Out of Order by Margarita Montimore

I absolutely loved this story about Oona who at the stroke of midnight on her 19th birthday, finds herself in her 51-year-old body. She is greeted by a stranger who is waiting for her in her home and tells her that every year, she will jump to another point in her life- she will live her life out of order. ⁣

This is an emotional, well written story that will not only keep you quickly turning pages but make you think about the small things in life that we take for granted. ⁣

If you love to read feel good books, check out our Ultimate List of Feel Good Books

In Five Year by Rebecca Serlemore of the best time travel books.

In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

What a refreshing book about the power of love and friendship.  I sat down and read this book in one sitting easily.  It is captivating from the first sentence and had me until the last page. 

Dannie is an ambitious lawyer with a plan.  She has her life planned out until she falls asleep and spends one hour in the future. Nothing is familiar- not her house, the ring on her finger or the man by her side.  When she wakes, she cannot get the images out of her head. 

I loved this book it was unexpected, unconventional and a delight to read.

One Last Stop more of the best time travel books.

One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston

I absolutely loved Casey’s first book and had very high hopes for this one. Thank you to Libro.fm for my copy.

August moves to NYC and into a house filled with weird roommates. When she meets Jane on the subway, sparks fly immediately and riding the subway becomes the best part of her day. The twist? Jane is displaced from the 1970’s and cannot get off the train.

Best Time Travel Books with Multiple Lives

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig more of the best time travel books.

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

I loved Matt Haig’s Last Book and was so excited to read this one.  I loved it even more- it is definitely one of my favorite books of the year.   

This is a library that has books filled with the infinite possibilities of the lives not lived.  Have you ever wondered about a choice, or a path not taken? When Nora finds herself in the library she is forced to face the choices that she made in her life- relationships, education, profession…This is a magical book and I loved every minute of it

If you love to read celebrity books club picks, we have a complete list of GMA bookclub picks ranked and updated!

A day like this

A Day Like This by Kelley McNeil

I absolutely love this book and wish that I never had to put it down. It grabbed me from the first page until the last. Annie Beyers is happily married with a daughter named Hannah and living in her beloved yellow house.

When she gets into a car accident on the way to the pediatrician, she wakes up in the hospital and everything has changed. Her husband is estranged and they tell her that Hannah never existed. 

This well-written, gripping story asks the question “what-if?”.  

This book will leave you smiling and is a perfect feel-good read. There is the perfect amount of magic and reality to appeal to everyone.

Life after Life

Life after Life by Kate Atkinson

This masterful work by Kate Atkinson is family drama, historical fiction and magical realism all rolled into one fantastic book.

Ursula Todd is born one night in 1910 and dies before taking her first breath. She is born again on the same snowy night in 1910 as so the story continues. Ursula lives her lives over and over hoping that she can get it right and change her story.

In a holidaze

In a Holidaze by Christina Lauren

Do you love Christmas movies? Are you obsessed with Romance books? Do you need to swoon? ⁣ If you answered yes to any of those questions, stop everything and order In a Holidaze. This is possibly my favorite Christmas novel of all time. ⁣

I adored Mae and Andrew’s love story. It’s set up like Groundhog’s Day with Mae repeating the same Christmas vacation until she gets it right. And man… does she get it right.⁣ Peppermint Kisses, Sexy Sledding, Snowball Fights, Christmas Tree trimming… this book is oozing with cheer-filled holiday goodness with a few scenes that are steamier than a cup of cocoa.⁣

7 12 Deaths

The Seven and a half Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

 This is one of the best books that I have read in a really long time. It is so smart and so well written- the complexity of the plot line is mind-boggling and kept me absolutely entranced until the very last page.    

Evelyn Hardcastle will be murdered every day at 11:00 PM. In order to escape Blackheath, Aiden Bishop must solve her murder. He will wake up every day for 8 days inhabiting a different host body.   

I absolutely love the way that Stuart Turton tells a story. Everything is explained and in hindsight is so clear but, will keep you guessing throughout the entire book. This is a murder mystery but with a twist, and a delightful one at that.

Historical Fantasy Time Travel Books

The Jane Austen Project more of the best time travel books.

The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen Flynn

As part of a group of workers from the future, Liam and Rachel are sent back in time to diagnose Jane’s illness, and help her complete her next book.

I love the grittier side of this novel. It doesn’t romanticize the time period, very similar to the way Diana Gabaldon shows the harsh realities of life in the Highlands or onboard a ship at sea.

The Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brockton more of the best time travel books.

Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brackston

Little Shop of Found Things was totally what I thought it would be and I was so pleasantly surprised.  Part historical fiction and part fantasy, this book is perfect for fans of Outlander. 

Xanthe and her Mother are starting a new life in their newly acquired antique shop.  Xanthe has always had the ability to touch objects and have them “sing” their story to her.  When she touches an old chatelaine, she feels more connected to this object than anything else she has ever touched. 

When she finds herself inextricably transported to 1605, she must find a way to get herself home and help someone from the past.  When she meets Samuel, an architect, she wonders if she will have the strength to leave.

11/22/63 by Steven Kind more of the best time travel books.

11/22/63 by Steven King

The book was brilliantly researched and had an amazing premise in which Jake Epping steps into a time hole to stop the assassination of Kennedy. Every time he leaves history, time resets itself. This means that if something does not go right, he can reset the clock and try again.

 The historic details in this book were immaculate but, as much as everyone loved this book, I thought that it was much too long. You have to be prepared for almost 900 pages.

Kindred by Octavia Butler more of the best time travel books.

Kindred by Octavia Butler

Dana is a black women in the 1970’s when she is abruptly transported to the antebellum South. She saves Rufus, the white son of the plantation owner, and then is transported back home again.

Dana keeps finding herself transported back in time to save Rufus over and over while she finds herself in an increasing amount of danger. This is an amazing, fast-paced read.

Do you want to read more historical fantasy? Check out this post.

The Best Middle Grade Time Travel Books

17162156

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

When Jacob experiences a family tragedy, he find himself on a remote island off the coast of Whales. He Discovers a crumbling ruin that was once Miss Pereguine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

As Jacob explores the ruins, he finds clues that leads him to believe that these children might be alive even though it seems impossible. This fantastic story is mixed with vintage photographs that brings the characters to life.

Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K Rowling

An often under-rated book in the series, Prisoner of Azkaban is one of the books with the more complicated story lines.

If you have not read the book, you should stop reading for spoilers! I LOVE how Rowling incorporated the time turner into this book that had more twists and turns than I could count.

a wrinkle in time by madeleine lengle

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

This classic book tell the story of Meg, a high school student, who must travel through space and time to rescue her father.

Along with her younger brother and her friend, Meg learns about the tesseract- a wrinkle in time and space that she must travel through in order to save her father from Evil.

Time Travel Sci-Fi Books

Ocean of Minutes

An Ocean of Minutes: A Novel by Thea Lim

As soon as I saw the description of this book, I knew I needed to read it.   In an alternate reality, there is a flu ravaging the population.  In exchange for a cure, loved ones agree to travel into the future for the price of the vaccine. 

This book was more dystopian than I thought it would be but, I felt compelled to keep reading.  I thought it was going to a romance but it is filled with heartbreak, pain, and tragedy.

Dark Matter

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

This is sci-fi for non-sci-fi fans. Also, it sort of reminded me of a wrinkle in time. The science part of the story was easily explained to me and the story was absolutely captivating!

More Time Travel Books

\

One Comment

Comments are closed.