23 of the Best Time Travel Books Like the Time Traveler’s Wife

Time Travel Header

Time travel books are such a fun genre to read. Whether you love time travel romance books, contemporary fiction or are drawn to multiple lives, we have the best time travel books in one place.

I find it so interesting that the idea of time travel finds its way into so many different genres of books. Who would think that historical fiction would go with time travel and yet, just have a look at the phenomenon of Outlander.

I am not sure if that spark was the beginning of this amazing sub-genre of books but, I love each one on this list. If you are looking for books like The Time Traveler’s Wife, you will find some great options on this list.

*This time travel book Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you.

Best Time Travel Romance Books

outlander

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon (Outlander #1)

How do we love Outlander? We cannot count the ways. There is a reason this is one of my favorite books of all time.

This epic story begins in 1945 when Claire Randall and her husband take a second honeymoon to the Scottish Highlands to celebrate being reunited after the war. When Claire touches one of the standing stones, she is transported to 1743.

This is when the real story begins. In order to stay safe as an English woman in Scotland, she must depend on Jamie Frasier for protection. This book is definitely at the top of our list of best romance novels of all time but you will love it equally if you love historical fiction, magical realism, romance, or witches. This is one of the iconic and epic time travel romance books that has it all and is perfect for a list of books like A Discovery of Witches. It was easy to include this on the best fantasy books for adults as well.

discovery of witches

A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1) by Deborah Harkness

Diana Bishop is a witch who accidentally recovers an ancient book that has been missing for hundreds of years. In doing so, she triggers her long-forgotten magic and opens the door for vampires, witches, and demons to search out Diana and the book.

This urban fantasy book about secret societies, witches, vampires, and more is a blend of heart-pounding action, historical fiction, and romance with the perfect mix of fantasy as well.

Why We Love This Book: If you love the witch aspect of Harry Potter, Vampires, fantasy books, or time travel books then you will love The All Souls trilogy. This adult fantasy novel explores the history of witches, demons, and vampires. This series reads like a historical fiction and we are obsessed.
Find this book in Books Like A Discovery of Witches / Best Fantasy Books for Adults / Books About Witches / Adult Books Similar to Harry Potter / Books About Libraries

the rose garden

The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley

I read this book set in Cornwall in only a few days because I loved it so much.  This is another book that I read this month that is the perfect pick for books like Outlander.

After Eva’s sister dies, she heads back to Cornwall England to find peace and rest.  What she discovers is more than she expects when she finds herself inexplicably back in time.  As her heart begins to feel again, can she find a way to heal her broken heart and find love? This is a wonderful time travel romance book that you will want to read again and again.

The Time Traveler's Wife and other books about libraries

The Time Traveler’s Wife By Audrey Niffenegger

Clare and Henry have an unusual love story. They’ve known each other since Clare was six and Henry was thirty-six, but got married when Clare was twenty-three and Henry was thirty-one. You see, Henry is an adventurous librarian who inadvertently travels through time.  

Why We Love This Book: I adore how this story explores very real challenges that any couple faces. With the added time travel element, it becomes an unforgettable pick from our list of romance books. The way that they fight for their love gives this book its clear spot on our list of best romance novels of all time. But be warned, this book may emotionally wreck you.
Find This Book in Best Time Travel Books Like the Time Traveler’s Wife / Time Travel Books /

Best Time Travel Books Like Outlander

A Knight in Shining Armor

A Knight in Shining Armor by Jude Deveraux

This setup of this time travel romance is the same as Outlander but in reverse! In the first part of the book, Douglass accidentally summons an Earl from the 16th century to modern England!

Dougless vowels to help return Nicholas to his own time, but not before trying to help him figure out who framed him for treason in his own era. But when he’s sent back and nothing changes, Dougless needs to head back to his time and try to save his life.

The attention to detail in the 16th century was reminiscent of Diana Gabaldon’s work. It’s a total must-read for fans of Jamie and Claire’s love story. You can find this one on our list of Time Travel Romance Books as well as 29 Books like Outlander for Fans of the Hit Series.

A love story that spans time is an easy pick for the best romance novels of all time

The Librarians

The Librarian by Christy Sloat

This is perfect for a list of books like Outlander! When Emme’s grandmother dies, she agrees to take over Gram’s library despite plans to head to college abroad.

When she opens a book from Gra’s special collection, she finds herself face to face with Jack Ridgewell in  1892 England.  Emme is part of an elite group of women who can travel to the past through books.  This brings a whole new meaning to book boyfriend. You’ll love this fantasy book about books.

Scribe of Siena

Scribe of Siena by Melodie Winawer

A perfect summer read about a neurosurgeon who is transported back to Siena in the time of the plague.  The narrative makes me feel like I am in Italy.  

Depicted as Outlander meets Girl with a Pearl Earring, at its heart, it is a love story. I could not put it down and finished it as a perfect start to the summer reading season. I love this time travel book set in Italy and it is the perfect time travel romance book for a list of books like Outlander.

Do you love Outlander? Check out these books!

Best Contemporary Fiction Time Travel Books Like the Time Traveler’s Wife

Oona Out of Order

Oona Out of Order by Margarita Montimore

April 2020 GMA Book Club Pick

I absolutely loved this story about Oona who at the stroke of midnight on her 19th birthday, finds herself in her 51-year-old body. She is greeted by a stranger who is waiting for her in her home and tells her that every year, she will jump to another point in her life- she will live her life out of order. ⁣

This is an emotional, well-written story that will not only keep you quickly turning pages but also make you think about the small things in life that we take for granted. ⁣

This book was a must for our list of feel-good books, but you can also find it on our New Year’s Eve books post and our best time travel book lists as well.

in five years

In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

March 2020 GMA Book Club Pick

What a refreshing contemporary fiction book about the power of love and friendship.  I sat down and read this book in one sitting easily.  It is captivating from the first sentence and had me until the last page. 

Dannie is an ambitious lawyer with a plan.  She has her life planned out until she falls asleep and spends one hour in the future. Nothing is familiar- not her house, the ring on her finger, or the man by her side.  When she wakes, she cannot get the images out of her head. 

I loved this time travel book it was unexpected, unconventional, and a delight to read. As books for book clubs go, this pick is sure to be a hit. And if your book club is looking for books about friends, this one is a sure hit.

One Last Stop and other May 2021 Novel Ideas books.

One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston

I absolutely loved Casey’s first book and had very high hopes for this one.

August moves to NYC and into a house filled with weird roommates. When she meets Jane on the subway, sparks fly immediately, and riding the subway becomes the best part of her day. The twist? Jane is displaced from the 1970s and cannot get off the train. As paranormal romance books go, this one is not to be missed.

I enjoyed this book but, I felt that there were some parts that dragged on a bit. It is very hard to find new ways to talk about a relationship that can only take place on the train. I loved the premise of this time travel romance book.

Best Time Travel Books with Multiple Lives

The midnight Library

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

October 2020 GMA Book Club Pick

The story is about a library with books filled with the infinite possibilities of the lives not lived.  Have you ever wondered about a choice, or a path not taken?

When Nora finds herself in the library she is forced to face the choices that she made in her life- relationships, education, profession…

Why I Love It: I loved Matt Haig’s last book and was so excited to read this one. This is a magical time travel book and I loved every minute of getting to know Nora’s paths untravelled. Matt Haig is a master of magical realism.

Find this book in Time Travel Books / Books about Books / Time Loop Books / Magical Realism / Best Books of 2020

If you love to read celebrity books club picks, we have a complete list of GMA book club picks ranked and updated!

A day like this

A Day Like This by Kelley McNeil

I absolutely love this book and wish that I never had to put it down. It grabbed me from the first page until the last. Annie Beyers is happily married with a daughter named Hannah and living in her beloved yellow house.

When she gets into a car accident on the way to the pediatrician, she wakes up in the hospital and everything has changed. Her husband is estranged and they tell her that Hannah never existed. 

This well-written, gripping story asks the question “what-if?”.  

This book will leave you smiling and is a perfect feel-good read. There is the perfect amount of magic and reality to appeal to everyone.

Life after Life

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

Ursula Todd is born one night in 1910 and died before taking her first breath. She is born again on the same snowy night in 1910 as so the story continues.

Ursula lives her life over and over hoping that she can get it right and change her story. As she grows, she grapples with family life and WWII. This unique story is one of the best books I’ve ever read.

Why I Love It: This masterful work by Kate Atkinson is a family drama, historical fiction, and magical realism all rolled into one fantastic book.

Find this book in Best WWII Books / Books Like the Time Traveler’s Wife / Magical Realism / Time Loop Books

in a holidaze and more Christmas romance books

In a Holidaze by Christina Lauren

Do you love Christmas movies? Are you obsessed with Christmas Romance books? Do you need to swoon? ⁣ If you answered yes to any of those questions, stop everything and order In a Holidaze. This is possibly my favorite Christmas novel of all time and was a must for best holiday books. ⁣

I adored Mae and Andrew’s love story. It’s set up like Groundhog’s Day with Mae repeating the same Christmas vacation until she gets it right.

Why I Love It: This is a time travel romance at its best. And man… does she get it right.⁣ Peppermint kisses, sexy sledding, snowball fights, Christmas Tree trimming… this book oozes cheer-filled holiday goodness with a few scenes that are steamier than a cup of cocoa.⁣

Find this book in Time Travel Books / Best Books of 2020 / Magical Realism / Time Loop Romance Books

7 12 Deaths

The Seven and a half Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

 This is one of the best books that I have read in a really long time. It is so smart and so well written- the complexity of the plot line is mind-boggling and kept me absolutely entranced until the very last page.    

Evelyn Hardcastle will be murdered every day at 11:00 PM. In order to escape Blackheath, Aiden Bishop must solve her murder. He will wake up every day for 8 days inhabiting a different host body.   

I absolutely love the way that Stuart Turton tells a story. Everything is explained and in hindsight is so clear but, will keep you guessing throughout the entire book. This is a murder mystery but with a twist, and a delightful one at that.

Historical Fantasy Time Travel Books Like the Time Traveler’s Wife

The Invisible Hour

The Invisible Hour by Alice Hoffman

Alice Hoffman has a place in our hearts with all of her books, including Practical Magic (one of our favorite series). So it is no surprise that her newest book is on our list of time travel romance books. This is the newest Alice Hoffman book and it is a book lover’s dream come true.

This fantasy is a story of love, heartbreak, and the magic of books. Mia Jacob is on the verge of sinking herself into a river when the book The Scarlet Letter saves her. The words seem to tell her story of growing up in an oppressive cult where contact with the outside world is forbidden and reading books is a heinous crime.

Even more daunting is the inscription on the inside of the book that is inscribed to her. This is a time travel romance book as only Hoffman could do it. I loved the audio version of the book- it brought life and depth to this story.

The Jane Austen Project more of the best time travel books.

The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen Flynn

As part of a group of workers from the future, Liam and Rachel are sent back in time to diagnose Jane’s illness and help her complete her next book.

I love the grittier side of this time travel book. It doesn’t romanticize the time period, very similar to the way Diana Gabaldon shows the harsh realities of life in the Highlands or onboard a ship at sea.

The Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brockton more of the best time travel books.

Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brackston

Little Shop of Found Things was totally what I thought it would be and I was so pleasantly surprised.  Part historical fiction and part fantasy, this time travel book is perfect for fans of Outlander. 

Xanthe and her Mother are starting a new life in their newly acquired antique shop.  Xanthe has always had the ability to touch objects and have them “sing” their story to her.  When she touches an old chatelaine, she feels more connected to this object than anything else she has ever touched. 

When she finds herself inextricably transported to 1605, she must find a way to get herself home and help someone from the past.  When she meets Samuel, an architect, she wonders if she will have the strength to leave.

11/22/63 by Steven Kind more of the best time travel books.

11/22/63 by Steven King

The book was brilliantly researched and had an amazing premise in which Jake Epping steps into a time hole to stop the assassination of Kennedy. Every time he leaves history, time resets itself. This means that if something does not go right, he can reset the clock and try again.

The historic details in this time travel book were immaculate but, as much as everyone loved this book, I thought that it was much too long. You have to be prepared for almost 900 pages.

Kindred by Octavia Butler more of the best time travel books.

Kindred by Octavia Butler

Dana is a black women in the 1970’s when she is abruptly transported to the antebellum South. She saves Rufus, the white son of the plantation owner, and then is transported back home again.

Dana keeps finding herself transported back in time to save Rufus over and over while she finds herself in an increasing amount of danger. This is an amazing, fast-paced read.

Do you want to read more historical fantasy? Check out this post.

The Best Middle-Grade Time Travel Books

Miss Peregrines home for peculiar children

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

When Jacob experiences a family tragedy, he finds himself on a remote island off the coast of Whales. He Discovers a crumbling ruin that was once Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

As Jacob explores the ruins, he finds clues that lead him to believe that these children might be alive even though it seems impossible. This fantastic story is mixed with vintage photographs that bring the characters to life. And while this pick is also a middle-grade book, it is intriguing enough to include it in a list of YA fantasy books.

Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K Rowling

An often underrated book in the series, Prisoner of Azkaban is one of the books with the more complicated story lines.

If you have not read the book, you should stop reading for spoilers! I LOVE how Rowling incorporated the time turner into this book that had more twists and turns than I could count.

a wrinkle in time

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

This classic book tells the story of Meg, a high school student, who must travel through space and time to rescue her father.

Along with her younger brother and her friend, Meg learns about the tesseract- a wrinkle in time and space that she must travel through in order to save her father from Evil. This is the OG time travel book for kids.

For more middle grade books, check out our list of books for 10-year-old, 11-year-old, 12-year-old, or 13-year-old readers.

Time Travel Sci-Fi Books

Ocean of Minutes

An Ocean of Minutes: A Novel by Thea Lim

As soon as I saw the description of this book, I knew I needed to read it.   In an alternate reality, there is a flu ravaging the population.  In exchange for a cure, loved ones agree to travel into the future for the price of the vaccine. 

This time travel book was more dystopian than I thought it would be but, I felt compelled to keep reading.  I thought it was going to a romance but it is filled with heartbreak, pain, and tragedy.

Dark Matter

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

This is sci-fi for non-sci-fi fans. Also, it sort of reminded me of a wrinkle in time. The science part of the story was easily explained to me and the story was absolutely captivating!

More Time Travel Books

\

Have you read any of these time travel books? What books like The Time Traveler’s Wife have you loved?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

One Comment