9 Magical Books Like A Discovery of Witches to Love

Books Like A Discovery of Witches
9 Magical Books Like A Discovery of Witches to Love 19

I discovered the All Souls Series by Deborah Harkness years ago and had to wait for each book to come out before I could finish the series. I wish the series was longer and suffered a serious book hangover. This is the reason why I started searching for books like A Discovery of Witches and the All Souls Trilogy.

Whether you love the witches, the vampires, the time travel, or the historical fiction aspect of this book series, there is a little something for everyone to love. It has recently been made into a television series and I think they did a really great job of staying true to the book.

We included all the books in the All Souls Trilogy series in order as well as books like A Discovery of Witches. So, if you loved this book series, check out your next great read.

*A Discovery of Witches Book Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you. Some books have been gifted. All opinions are our own.

A Discovery of Witches Book Series

  1. A Discovery of Witches
  2. Shadow of Night
  3. The Book of Life
  4. Time’s Convent

All Souls Trilogy Books (Discovery of Witches Series)

discovery of witches

A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1) by Deborah Harkness

Diana Bishop is a witch who accidentally recovers an ancient book that has been missing for hundreds of years. In doing so, she triggers her long-forgotten magic and opens the door for vampires, witches, and demons to search out Diana and the book.

This urban fantasy book about secret societies, witches, vampires, and more is a blend of heart-pounding action, historical fiction, and romance with the perfect mix of fantasy as well.

Why We Love This Book: If you love the witch aspect of Harry Potter, Vampires, fantasy books, or time travel books then you will love The All Souls trilogy. This adult fantasy novel explores the history of witches, demons, and vampires. This series reads like a historical fiction and we are obsessed.
Find this book in Books Like A Discovery of Witches / Best Fantasy Books for Adults / Books About Witches / Adult Books Similar to Harry Potter / Books About Libraries

Shadow of Night

Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy#2) by Deborah Harkness

In this second book in the series, Diana and Matthew must travel back in time to Elizabethan England to hide from those who seek to kill her and find a witch to tutor her in magic.

Matthew’s past is now a very real threat as the two continue to find a way to find Ashmole 782 for a second time. This book is filled with time travel, witches, and vampires and gives an amazing peek into Elizabethan England.

The Book of Life

The Book of Life (All Souls Trilogy #3) by Deborah Harkness

Diana and Matthew have returned to the present to face their enemies. The search for the missing Ashmole 782 is even more important as is finding the missing pages.

Diana and Matthew must rely on friends, family, modern science, and ancient knowledge to save themselves and all the creatures.

Times Convert

Time’s Convert: A Novel by Deborah Harkness

This book is the story of Marcus Macneal who was a surgeon on the battlefields of the American Revolution. It is a prequel to A Discovery of Witches. When Matthew de Clairmont offers him a chance to become immortal, he takes it.

Now, in the present, Marcus has fallen in love with a human named Phoebe. We follow her on her journey to immortality. Marcus must battle his past if he wants to make a future for himself. This is a slow-burning romance that will leave you wanting more.

Historical Fantasy Books Like A Discovery of Witches

Magic lessons

Magic Lessons (Book #1 of the Practical Magic Series) by Alice Hoffman

I started it the minute I got it but made myself wait until Halloween to finish the book because I wanted to enjoy the book to the fullest.  I absolutely loved this prequel to the amazing Practical Magic.  

The  Owens women have a centuries-old curse that started with Maria Owens in the 1600s.  With her amazing ability to weave a story, Alice Hoffman has once again written a book that captured my heart on the first page.  Part historical fiction and part love story, this witch book had everything that I wanted from a prequel. This historical fantasy book was a must for books like A Discovery of Witches.

If you love Alice Hoffman books, check out our Guide to Practical Magic and books just like it!

the lost queen

The Lost Queen by Signe Pike

If you love Outlander, The Mists of Avalon, or The Clan of the Cave Bear, then you will love this pick from royal reads. Set in Britain/ Scotland when Christianity is poised to become the religion of the country, a future queen who swore to the old ways is learning how to balance the needs of her people and her religion with the role she’s expected to play.

Meanwhile, her twin brother is training to be the man history knows as Merlin. The first in a new trilogy about Arthurian legend.

This book is a perfect pick for a list of books like A Discovery of Witches or a list of books like Outlander. If you love books set in Scotland, this book is a must-read.

night circus

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Every word captivated me from beginning to end and I couldn’t put it down. The story was magical- both literally and figuratively and the descriptions are so vivid.

The stage has been set for a magical competition between the pupils of two very powerful magicians. The stage: the night circus. The pupils, a man and a woman, are unsure of the rules, unsure of how to win or when the competition will end. As the competition continues, the opponents fall in love- a situation that only complicates their predicament.

This is magic in a way that I never imagined it before. The story has twists and surprises that left me wondering how I didn’t see what was right there all along.

Find this Book in Best Romance Novels of all Time / The Best Carnival and Circus Books / Books Like the Hunger Games / Books Like the Night Circus.

Weyward and more of the best Summer reads 2023

Weyward by Emilia Hart

This is such a well-thought-out book and one of the best witch books I have read in a while. This adult fantasy book follows three Weyward women. In 2017, Kate is fleeing an abusive partner to her great-aunt’s cottage. In 1619, Altha is awaiting her own witch trial and in 1942 we meet Violet whose father keeps her trapped in her house because she cannot fit into what society expects of her.

Each of these women finds themselves and who they are as the story progresses and I found myself completely sucked in. I loved this debut urban fantasy novel and I cannot wait to see what comes next from this author. It is also a perfect book to read if you love the Practical Magic Series or the All Souls Trilogy. If fantasy books are your favorite, you will love this pick from ultimate beach reads 2023.

historical fantasy books

Historical Fantasy Books to Capture Your Imagination

If you are looking for more historical fantasy books like A Discovery of Witches, check out this post.

Time Travel Books Like A Discovery of Witches

outlander

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon (Outlander #1)

How do we love Outlander? We cannot count the ways. There is a reason this is one of my favorite books of all time.

This epic story begins in 1945 when Claire Randall and her husband take a second honeymoon to the Scottish Highlands to celebrate being reunited after the war. When Claire touches one of the standing stones, she is transported to 1743.

This is when the real story begins. In order to stay safe as an English woman in Scotland, she must depend on Jamie Frasier for protection. This book is definitely at the top of our list of best romance novels of all time but you will love it equally if you love historical fiction, magical realism, romance, or witches. This is one of the iconic and epic time travel romance books that has it all and is perfect for a list of books like A Discovery of Witches. It was easy to include this on the best fantasy books for adults as well.

the rose garden

The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley

I read this book set in Cornwall in only a few days because I loved it so much.  This is another book that I read this month that is the perfect pick for books like Outlander.

After Eva’s sister dies, she heads back to Cornwall England to find peace and rest.  What she discovers is more than she expects when she finds herself inexplicably back in time.  As her heart begins to feel again, can she find a way to heal her broken heart and find love? This is a wonderful time travel romance book that you will want to read again and again.

The Time Traveler's Wife and other books about libraries

The Time Traveler’s Wife By Audrey Niffenegger

Clare and Henry have an unusual love story. They’ve known each other since Clare was six and Henry was thirty-six, but got married when Clare was twenty-three and Henry was thirty-one. You see, Henry is an adventurous librarian who inadvertently travels through time.  

Why We Love This Book: I adore how this story explores very real challenges that any couple faces. With the added time travel element, it becomes an unforgettable pick from our list of romance books. The way that they fight for their love gives this book its clear spot on our list of best romance novels of all time. But be warned, this book may emotionally wreck you.
Find This Book in Best Time Travel Books Like the Time Traveler’s Wife / Time Travel Books /

Be sure to check out our list of if you want more like this.

The Best Time Travel Books to Transport You

Best Time Travel Books Like The Time Traveler’s Wife

If you want more time travel books like A Discovery of Witches, check out this list.

More Books Like A Discovery of Witches

Dead until Dark

Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse #1) by Charlaine Harris

I watched this show before I knew that it was an adult fantasy book series and then I obviously had to read these vampire books as well. Sookie Stackhouse is a waitress at a bar in her small town in Louisiana. She is quiet and keeps to herself except for the fact that she can read people’s minds.

When Bill Compton comes into the bar one night, Sookie cannot hear anything he is thinking and she is quickly infatuated. The feeling is mutual. But when murders start taking place and the two suspects are Bill and Sookie’s womanizing brother, Sookie starts to question her choices. There is nothing PG about this steamy urban fantasy romance series.

bear and the nightingale

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine  Arden

This YA fantasy book which is based on Russian folklore was a slow build.  I wasn’t sure about it until about halfway through when I couldn’t put it down.  In fact, I went out to buy the sequel (The Girl in the Tower) immediately because I needed to find out what happens. 

Vasya lives with her family on the edge of a Russian forest where they hear stories of the Blue-eyed winter demon and honor household spirits. When Vasya’s dad brings home a new stepmother who forbids these practices, misfortunes follow. Vasya now must use the gifts that she has kept hidden all these years. The winter demon in this book is different from the demons in A Discovery of Witches books but it makes it a perfect pick for a list of books like A Discovery of Witches.

crescent city

House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas

House of Earth and Blood is the first in a new series by Sarah J. Maas, of ACOTAR fame. It’s an urban fantasy – and tells the story of Bryce Quinlan and her bodyguard, Hunt Athalar. Together, they are trying to uncover the source of the murders and series of strange events happening around Crescent City.

This wild ride was filled with skyscrapers, cellphones, and video surveillance, but also fairies, werewolves, angels, demons, and witches with history and power.⁣

My initial turn-off of too many names/places/tribes/species types was quickly overcome by the insane world-building and a story that kept me up until 3 a.m. If you love the species in this series, the All Souls Trilogy books are perfect for you.

Head over to our guide on all of Sarah J. Maas’s books if you want more from this amazing author. This is one of the best urban fantasy books I have ever read.

Adult Fantasy Novels

Ultimate List of Best Adult Fantasy Novels to Read

If fantasy books are your favorite books, then these are the perfect book lists for you. We carefully divided them into sub-genres.

Did we include your favorite books like A Discovery of Witches?

Is A Discovery of Witches a Show?

Yes! A Discovery of Witches book series is a show on Amazon Prime. The series was three seasons long.

Is A Discovery of Witches Cancelled?

Unfortunately, yes. The Prime series was canceled after the third season. Each season of the television show was based on one book in the All Souls Trilogy. There are no plans for a fourth season.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

2 Comments