10 Magical Books Like The Night Circus

Books Like the Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
10 Magical Books Like The Night Circus 16

I read the night circus years ago and it gave me the same chills as reading Harry Potter for the first time. The descriptions of the magic in this book are unlike anything I have ever read. I wanted to find books like The Night Circus to cure you of your book hangover.

*Books Like the Night Circus contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you.

night circus

The Night Circus

The stage has been set for a magical competition between two very powerful magicians. The stage: The Night Circus. The competitors are a man and a woman who are unsure of the rules, unsure how to win, or when the competition will end. As the competition continues, the opponents fall in love which complicates things. 

This magical book is one of my favorites of all time. There is so much to love about this YA Fantasy. The descriptions make you feel like you are there. This is the perfect book for lovers of magic, fantasy, and circus books.

Circus Books Like the Night Circus

circus rose

Circus Rose by Betsy Cornwall

Rosie and Ivory have grown up in their mother’s circus and are returning to Port’s End. It is a place closest to any home after years of traveling. As the circus prepares for opening night, fundamentalists seek to stop the show from continuing. But, as the show begins, a massive fire strikes the tent and that is only the beginning.

This book is a queer re-telling of Snow White and Rose Red (not to be confused with Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs). It has been thoroughly reimagined and transformed in this book. It is a must-read for a list of books like the night circus

caraval

Caraval by Stephanie Garber 

When it comes to YA Fantasy books, this one is a classic. The story begins with letters from Scarlett to Legend, the leader of Caraval- a game played once a year in a far-off destination.

Every year, every time it is played, the game is different. Filled with magic and wonder, this destination-based competition is played by Scarlet as she tries to get this year’s prize – her sister Tella – before anyone else can.

There is a love story and magic as the stakes get higher the longer Scarlet plays. This is the first book in three-part series that gets better and more complicated with each new book.

The Ladies of the Secret Circus

The Ladies of the Secret Circus by Constance Sayers

Have you ever loved a book so much that you couldn’t put it down but also didn’t want it to end? That is how I felt about book!
⁣In 2004 Lara Barnes’s fiancé disappears on their wedding day. As Lara searches for answers, she starts to unravel a family mystery that goes back to 1925. ⁣This book has everything. It’s a dark fantasy filled with mystery, disappearances, and magic. I don’t want to give more detail because I don’t want to spoil any part of this book- it is my favorite fantasy of 2021 so far!⁣

Circus Header

14 Best Carnival and Circus Books to Read Now

For more circus books like The Night Cirus, Check out this post.

Magic Books Like the Night Circus

Harry Potter

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K Rowling

I was in university when this book was published and the first four were sitting on my younger brother’s bookshelf before I picked it up to see what the fuss was about. 

I read all four books in as many days and was married with a child before the final book was published. 

This book is so much more than just a book.  It is a vernacular that is used in our house.  It is the book that changed all books and our culture forever. 

I am so grateful for the world of Harry Potter because I think it opened up the world of books to people who may never have known they love to read. Harry Potter shows up on our list of books like Percy Jackson too! And if you love Harry like we do, check out our 17 Books like Harry Potter for Kids Obsessed with Magic or 21 Adult Books Similar to Harry Potter for Fans of Magic.

Paybacks a witch

Payback’s a Witch (The Witches of Thistle Grove #1) by Lana Harper

This adorable romance was the perfect post-Halloween read for me. Emmy Harlow must return home to her magical town of Thistle Grove to arbitrate a spell-casting tournament. The winner has control of magic in the town.

Emmy ran away because of a broken heart but now, her heart may be on the mend thanks to the beautiful and powerful Talia. I loved this book. The magical competition in this book made it a must for our list of books like the Night Circus. The Stakes of this game make it perfect for books like The Hunger Games.

All of Us Villains

All of Us Villains by Amanda Foody and Christine Lynn Herman

Seven families compete every twenty years over control of high magick. When the Blood Moon rises, the blood veil falls and each family chooses one child to compete to the death. The stakes are high and the prize is epic.

I loved this book and it left me simultaneously freaked out and wanting more. The parents in this book are brutal and willing to sacrifice their children willingly. It is perfect for fans of the Hunger Games, but, the magical competition in this book makes it perfect for a list of books like the night circus.

YA Fantasy Romance Books Like the Night Circus

court of thorns and roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

This book has a cult-like following for a reason. The first book in the series is a loose fairy tale retelling of Beauty and the Beast set in the world of Prythian. Magical creatures, humans, and fae are all prominent in the book.

This is a fast-paced, addicting, fantasy romance series. A love triangle develops by the end of the story and book two is jaw-dropping! This is on its way to becoming a classic from the list of enemies-to-lovers books. You will want to binge this series in one week. We could not leave this epic romance off a list of the best romance novels of all time.

If you loved ACOTAR, check out this list of books just like it.

Cinder

Cinder by Melissa Meyer

This 4 book series is set in the future in a time of disease and war.  This series is a part twisted fairy tale, part dystopia, and part sci-fi fantasy.  This YA fantasy romance is unlike any other you have read and is perfect for a list of books like The Night Circus.

Cinderella, Red Riding Hood, and Rapunzel are re-imagined as you have never seen them before. All of them are smart and strong women far from the helpless damsels in distress we know them to be. 

If you’ve read and loved Cinder, check out this list of books just like it!

Serpent and Dove

Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Louise Le Blanche is a witch, Reid Diggory is a witch hunter, but when they are forced to be married Lou has to keep her identity a secret and try not to fall for her handsome husband. Could you ask for anything more from enemies-to-lovers books?

Set in the pre-industrial age in Paris, France, this historical fantasy book is perfect for lovers of YA! It’s got funny, fierce heroines, a steamy love story, and a cast that is actually diverse! I devoured all three books in this series of books set in Paris.

More Books By Erin Morgenstern

The starless sea

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgensternir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=a21b6da7b1e904bee65ffc4cce1d99c3& cb=1575161583926

To say that I was excited about Erin Morgenstern‘s new book might be the understatement of the year.  How to describe this book that is an ode to storytelling…..it’s a love story to books, a fantasy within a love story within a fairy tale.

The writing is beautiful- Erin’s signature style of vivid imagery left me completely captivated. I listened to this with Libro.FM and I read it as well. I truly loved every minute of this book. It was pointless to predict the story. So, I let it take me away with the lyrical prose. I adored it is a perfect pick for a list of books like The Night Circus. This is one of my favorite full-cast audiobooks.

YA Fantasy Header

The Ultimate List of YA Fantasy Books: 70+ Best Picks

For more YA Fantasy Books like The Night Cirus, Check out this post.

What is your favorite pick from this list of books like The Night Circus?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.