18 Sensational Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses

Books like ACOTAR
18 Sensational Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses 27

Sarah J. Maas’s epic trilogy, A Court of Thorns and Roses, has inspired many a book hangover. There is a reason this is our most popular post year after year. Readers just want more books like A Court of Thorns and Roses!!!

Maas’s world of Prythian is filled with fae, demons, winged creatures, bad-ass heroines, and swoon-worthy romances. So finding books that feature all of the above AND are addicting to read can be difficult. This is an epic fantasy.

Whether you are looking for a Beauty and the Beast retelling (Hi, Tamlin 👋🏻), an epic romance, a winged-warrior like Rhysand, Cassian, and Azriel, or a heroine whose bravery matches Feyre’s, we’ve got books like ACOTAR for you!

*Books Like ACOTAR Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you.

Books like A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses Special Editions

Before we get into the books like A Court of Thorns and Roses, we wanted to showcase the new special editions and the updated covers.

I’m still partial to the covers with Feyre on the front, but I know not everyone agrees with me. Which editions do you like best?

More Books by Sarah J. Maas

Before you look at other books like A Court of Thorns and Roses by other authors, know that our beloved Maas has two other book series that are both epic!

While Throne of Glass is a YA fantasy series, Crescent City is definitely for adults only.

crescent city

House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas

House of Earth and Blood is the first in a new series by Sarah J. Maas, of ACOTAR fame. It’s an urban fantasy – and tells the story of Bryce Quinlan and her bodyguard, Hunt Athalar. Together, they are trying to uncover the source of the murders and series of strange events happening around Crescent City.

This wild ride was filled with skyscrapers, cellphones, and video surveillance, but also fairies, werewolves, angels, demons, and witches with history and power.⁣

My initial turn-off of too many names/places/tribes/species types was quickly overcome by the insane world-building and a story that kept me up until 3 a.m. Head over to our guide on all of Sarah J. Maas’s books if you want more from this amazing author. This is one of the best urban fantasy books I have ever read.

THrone of Glass

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

This epic book series from Sarah J. Maas was started when Sarah was still a teenager! It’s all about Celaena, an imprisoned assassin who is offered freedom by acting as the champion for Prince Dorian.

As she prepares to earn her freedom in the competition, she begins training sessions with the captain of the guard. As she tries to acclimate to court life, the prince is drawn to her, and a love triangle forms.

The YA fantasy series gets better and better with each book! A total must-read if you are looking for books like ACOTAR and a must-read if you love fae books. Or head over to our guide on all of Sarah J. Maas’s books.

Sarah j maas Header

15 Sarah J Maas Books in Order: A Complete Guide to the Fantastic Books

Head to this helpful guide to get the scoop on all of Sarah J. Maas’s books.

Books like a Court of Thorns and Roses
18 Sensational Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses 28

Books like ACOTAR: Beauty and the Beast Retellings

cruel beauty

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a Beauty and the Beast retelling with a twist, just like Cruel Beauty. In this story, Nyx knows she must marry the evil ruler of the land in the hopes she can kill him and free her fellow citizens.

But once she moves inside the walls of the enchanted castle, she is surprised by the feeling that her husband evokes in her heart. This story also makes references to Greek Mythology throughout. I loved how the fairy tale and mythology elements intertwined. If you are looking for books like a Court of Thorns and Roses, this is a perfect pick.

uprooted

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Wow!  This book is an epic adult fairy tale.  It is complex and so unlike any traditional American fairy tale retelling.  An enchanted wood, magic, and mythical creatures grab you and pull you in. This is not a typical damsel-in-distress tale so do not let it fool you.

Agnieszka lives next to a wood filled with dark powers. The village depends on the Dragon to protect them from these dark powers. In exchange, one woman from the village must go and serve him every ten years. To everyone’s surprise, he chooses Agnieszka.

I don’t want to say more about this book and ruin its magic. But, if you love fairy tale retellings or are looking for books like ACOTAR, this is a perfect pick.

A Curse so Dark and Lonely

A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmererir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=ab68078db1465da19076d014e383dea9& cb=1590787287915

This is a fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast and I read it for a buddy read with some bookstagram friends. I love that the modern retelling of some of the classics give more power to the women in the story.  

I enjoyed this first in the series of YA fantasy romance books although it is a lot tamer than the ⁣other books in the series.  It is not a typical Beauty and the Beast retelling because it has more of a  love triangle but, I don’t want to reveal more.⁣ It’s the first in the series about Prince Rhen and his kingdom.

Find this book in Books Like Cinder / Books like A Court of Thorns and Roses,

hunted

Hunted by Meagan Spooner

I read this as research for our Books to Read if You Love A Court of Thorns and Roses post. It’s another Beauty and the Beast retelling, except this Beauty is more like Katniss Everdeen. No ballgowns or talking tea-pots, just a female huntress out to avenge her father’s death and free the beast from his prison.

Light on the romance, heavy on the hunting descriptions. Yet there was a charm in this young adult fantasy set in the wilds of Russia that I found as captivating as the magical firebird in the story.

Nocture and more February 2023 book releases

Nocturne by Alyssa Wees

I absolutely adored this pick for best fantasy books of 2023 because it’s pure magic at its best. What starts as a historical fiction set in Chicago in the 1930s transforms into a beautiful fantasy about a ballerina, her violin, and the kingdom of death.

When Grace becomes the prima ballerina at The Near North Ballet Company, she is overjoyed that her dream has come true. In accepting this position, she has become a patron of master LaRosa and must move into his mansion.

This Beauty and the Beast retelling is perfect for a list of books like ACOTAR. It is beautiful and absolutely heartbreaking. The writing is lyrical and I savored every minute. It is perfect for anyone who loves to read books like The Night Circus. You will obsess over this haunting pick from ultimate beach reads 2023.

Fae Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses

Zodiac Academy and more books set in college and high school

Zodiac Academy: The Awakening by Caroline Peckham and Susanne Valenti

Whew. I have found my newest YA Fantasy series addiction. Orphan twins Tory and Darcy find out they are actually Fae after their 18th birthday. And not just any Fae, they are the heirs to the throne and they only need to graduate from Zodiac Academy to claim their throne.

The problem comes in the form of the 4 Heirs – The boys in each elemental order who have been raised to share the throne and rule Solaria together in the Twins’ absence.

They aren’t planning to give up their claim anytime soon and they use their considerable magic in the air, fire, earth, and water elements to put these girls to the test.

This urban fantasy series is on fire hot, with lots of steam, bullying romance, and deadly situations. Even though this is one of a few great books set in high school, do NOT read this one if you are under 18. But if you are looking for books like ACOTAR, you’ll devour this one too! Or check out our list of books like Zodiac Academy!

An Enchantment of Ravens and more books like a court of thorns and roses.

An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson

A stand-alone fantasy romance? These are few and far between, but this one is perfect for fans looking for books like ACOTAR.

This story of a human falling in love with a Fae prince has tons of elements for Sarah J. Maas fans to love. From Winter, Spring, Summer, and Autumn Fae courts, to enchantments and a forbidden love story.

I fell hard for Rook and Isobel. I think you all will too!

Cruel Prince

The Cruel Prince (The Folk of Air #1) by Holly Black

When Jude was seven years old, her parents were murdered and she was taken to live in the high court of the Faeries with her two sisters. Now, ten years later, Jude is living as a human among faeries and trying to find her place in Court.

This is book is filled with angst, treachery, and drama that makes it completely addicting. I ordered the sequel the minute that I was done with this book, which is the first in a trilogy.

If you are looking for books like A Court of Thorns and Roses, this pick is tamer but addictive as well. This series should be on your radar for books that are more appropriate for the younger YA audience as well.

Find this book in YA Fantasy Romance / Fae Books/ Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses / YA Fantasy Series / Ultimate List of YA Fantasy / Enemies-to-lovers books

Glimmerglass and more fae books

Glimmerglass by Jenna Black

This was a fun quick YA read from our list of fae books. Dana Hathaway is a half-human, half-Faerie 16-year-old.  She leaves her alcoholic mother to go to Avalon and meet her father for the first time. 

Avalon is the gateway to the fairy realm and she will soon question who she should trust when she discovers she is a Faeriewalker, someone who can travel between the human and faerie world. Now, that she is caught between two worlds, she does not know who to trust and everyone seems to want something from her. This YA fantasy book is a fun and quick read if you are looking for books like ACOTAR and is fun read if you are looking for urban fantasy books.

For more books like these, check out our list of Fae Books

Books like ACOTAR: Epic Series with Female Warriors like Feyre

Fourth Wing

Fourth Wing (Empyrean Series Book #1) by Rebecca Yarros

If you have not heard of this book and love fantasy, this is the book for you. Don’t be intimidated by the length of this dragon book for adults, I started and finished this 528-page bad boy in a day and a half. I cannot remember the last time I did that!

Violet Sorrengail had spent her life studying to be a scribe until her father died and her mother, the commanding general, ordered her to join the dragon riders. Violet will become one of the hundreds of candidates who fight to the death to be a part of this elite group.

Unlike the other candidates who have worked towards this their whole lives, Violet is small and brittle and never meant for this to be her path. And other candidates do not have the children of rebel leaders waiting to take revenge.

This adult fantasy book has everything and I loved every second. It lives up to the hype and then some. There are some very spicy parts of this romance toward the end so I would agree with the adult rating on this book!

Find this book in Adult Fantasy Books / Fourth Wing Series in Order / The Best Books Like Fourth Wing / Grumpy Sunshine Romance

Dreams lie beneath

Dreams Lie Beneath by Rebecca Ross

I adored this stand-alone YA fantasy novel in which local wardens are responsible for recording dreams and later fighting the same dreams when they appear on the night of the new moon.

Clementine is training to be a warden under her father, but he loses his post, and she swears revenge on the challengers. While plotting her revenge, she also seeks to overturn the curse that is haunting the entire kingdom.

Find this book in the Ultimate List of YA Fantasy / Books Like ACOTAR

hunger games

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

This is the first book in the Hunger Games series and it is epic! In the aftermath of what was once North America, there are 12 Districts surrounding the capital.

Each year, each district sends one boy and one girl to fight to the death in a competition called “The Hunger Games”. Katniss Everdeen volunteers as a tribute to save her younger sister, Prim, from certain death in the games where it is kill-or-be-killed.

This sci-fi book has everything but at its heart, it is a book about family, love, and survival. This young adult book has a heart while making you turn the pages!

Find this book in Books Like the Hunger Games / Young Adult Fantasy Series / Books About Sisters / Sci-Fi Books / Books Like Fourth Wing / YA Dystopian Novels

storm and fury

Storm and Fury by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I loved the Disney cartoon Gargoyles when I was a little girl, so when I saw a YA Fantasy book that is also a paranormal romance book, I knew I needed it. I read this to help ease me out of my House of Earth and Blood book hangover and it was a perfect read. This pick from fantasy romance books for

It’s actually a spin-off of one of Armentrout’s other YA fantasy book series, which I didn’t know until after I read the story. I didn’t feel like I missed anything having read this first. Gargoyles are Wardens out to fight demons and protect humans, and one special human in particular. This urban fantasy is as much romance as fantasy.

Shadow and Bone and more books by Jewish writers

Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy #1) by Leigh Bardugo

I was so excited when I learned that Netflix was making this young adult fantasy book series into an adaptation. I think it will be amazing on screen and I am so curious to see if they keep to the book or change things, which is so often the case.

Alina Starkov is an orphan who has never excelled in anything. When her regiment is sent into the fold and her best friend is in danger of being killed, she unleashes a power, unlike anything anyone has seen. It may be the answer to the wars that have ravaged her nation.

Find this book in Books Like Shadow and Bone / Leigh Bardugo Books in Order/ Netflix Adaptations

Red Queen

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

I have been on some weird dystopian kick recently – which is funny because I had to be forced to read the Hunger Games. Now I can’t seem to stop! I’m sure I’ll switch gears this summer, but I love this young adult fantasy novel.

In this world, those with red blood are common and those with silver blood are elite with superhuman abilities. In the war against Silvers and Reds, Mare Barrow is special and so is this book. The ending was a total shock! I couldn’t put it down.

Find this book in Books like The Hunger Games / Young Adult Romance fantasy books / Books like ACOTAR / YA Dystopian Novels / Books Like The Selection

YA Fantasy Romance Books like A Court of Thorns and Roses

the selection 1

The Selection by Kiera Cass

We have talked about this series so many times for a reason.  It is so much fun- think Hunger Games meets the Bachelor. It’s a reality TV royal match-making contest in a dystopian world.

But, in this case, the bachelor also happens to be the future king.  Can you imagine if William held a contest to see who would be the future princess? This is one of our favorite books about royals. It also happens to be the reason that Beyond the Bookends exits, but that is an entirely different story.

Find this book in Books Like The Selection / Ultimate List of YA Fantasy / Books Like ACOTAR / Books Like the Hunger Games/ YA Dystopian Books

fallen

Fallen by Lauren Kate

I picked up the first two books in this YA fantasy series after turning in a few books and quickly fell in love with the first book and the story of Daniel and Luce’s love.

Luce has been sent to Sword and Cross boarding school, a place for other troubled kids like her. The minute she gets to the school, Daniel catches her eye but he will not give her the time of day. But there is more to Daniel and Luce will discover his secrets no matter what the cost.

This Fae series is addicting. Don’t say we didn’t warn you. If you are looking for romance books about second chances (or third or fourth), you will love this book. If you are into Rhysand, Azriel, Cassian, and the other winged warriors of the Night Court, then you will love this series of books like A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Find this book in Fae Books / Best Fantasy Books for Teens / Urban Fantasy/

unearthly

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

A friend of mine recommended this YA fantasy series to me a while ago, but I was turned off by the dated cover. This month I finally decided to tackle the series and I’m so glad I did! They are perfect for readers looking for books like ACOTAR!

Good and Bad Angels roam the earth, here to fulfill their purpose. When Clara starts getting visions of her purpose, she and her family move to Jackson Hole, Wyoming so she can save a boy from a fire. But will it all go to plan? I’ve already started the second book in this trilogy

Love YA Fantasy? Our list of 65+ Epic YA Fantasy books is perfect for you!!

Amazing A Court of Thorns and Roses Gear

Can’t get enough of Feyre and her crew? Check out the amazing fan-created pieces below.

If you think we are missing any books like A Court of Thorns and Roses, comment below and let us know!

16 Sensational Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses
18 Sensational Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses 29

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.