Leigh Bardugo Books in Order: Complete Guide to 18 Amazing Books

Leigh Bardugo books in order
Leigh Bardugo Books in Order: Complete Guide to 18 Amazing Books 8

I have been reading Leigh Bardugo Books for years and am in awe of her ability to create entire universes. You May have heard of a little thing called the Greishaverse? Just in time for Leigh’s much-anticipated follow-up to Ninth House, we wanted to give you a complete list of Leigh Bardugo Books in order.

*Leigh Bardugo Books in order Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you.

A Special Note From Leigh Bardugo and Eric Heisserer to Beyond the Bookends

Leigh Bardugo Books in Order: From the Greishaverse

More Leigh Bardugo Books in Order

Should I Read Leigh Bardugo Books in Order

Yes! And no. In short, The Greishaverse books are easiest to understand if they are read in order because the world-building is so thorough and unlike anything else.

You might also spoil some things for yourself by not reading them in order.

Ninth House and Hell Bent are adult fantasy dark academia books that can be read at any time.

What is the Greishaverse Reading Order?

The Greishaverse is a universe that spans the Shadow and Bone Trilogy, The Six of Crows Duology, the King of Scars Duology, two short story collections, and a graphic novel.

The short stories and graphic novel can be read at any time. The trilogy and duologies should be read in order.

Who is Leigh Bardugo?

Leigh Bardugo is the New York Times Best-selling author of Ninth House and the creator of the Greishaverse.

Leigh Bardugo Books in Order: Shadow and Bone

The Shadow and Bone books are the first books in the Greishaverse and should be read first if you want to avoid any spoilers by reading the next two series. The Three books in this series are: Shadow and Bone (Shadow and Bone, Book 1)- 2012, Siege and Storm (Shadow and Bone, Book 2)- 2013, and Ruin and Rising (Shadow and Bone, Book 3, 2014). Season two is coming to Netflix in March 2023!

Shadow and Bone and more books by Jewish writers

Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy #1) by Leigh Bardugo

I was so excited when I learned that Netflix was making this young adult fantasy book series into an adaptation. I think it will be amazing on screen and I am so curious to see if they keep to the book or change things, which is so often the case.

Alina Starkov is an orphan who has never excelled in anything. When her regiment is sent into the fold and her best friend is in danger of being killed, she unleashes a power, unlike anything anyone has seen. It may be the answer to the wars that have ravaged her nation.

Find this book in Books Like Shadow and Bone / Leigh Bardugo Books in Order/ Netflix Adaptations

Novel Ideas 25

Captivating Books like Shadow and Bone to Read Now!

If you love the Greishaverse and read all of the Leigh Bardugo books in order, check out this post.

Leigh Bardugo Books in Order: Six of Crows

Six of Crows is the second series that Leigh Bardugo wrote and it has two books:Six of Crows (Six of Crows, Book 1)- 2015 and Crooked Kingdon (Six of Crows, Book 2)- 2016. I made the mistake of trying to read Six of Crows first and that is why I recommend reading Leigh Bardugo books in order.

Leigh Bardugo Books in Order: Kings of Scars

The King of Scars Duology is the last set of books in the Greishaverse. The two books in the duology are:King of Scars (King of Scars Duology, Book 1)- 2019 and Rule of Wolves (King of Scars Duology, Book 2)- 2021. All the books in the Greishaverse come together to create a universe unlike anything else. See how the story ends.

More Books from the Greishaverse

These additional books from the Greishaverse can be read at any time or used as companions while you read Leigh Bardugo books.

the lives of saints

The Lives of Saints by Leigh Bardugo

I am so thankful for my copy of the audiobook.  I wasn’t sure what to expect but I loved it.  I know the physical copy has beautiful illustrations but, that did not take away from this beautiful little book.  

Told in 5 minutes tales, each “chapter” tells the story of the life of a different Saint.   I had no idea there were so many tales from the Greishaverse and I found the writing magical as always. If you are reading Leigh Bardugo books in order, you can read this one at any time.

More Leigh Bardugo Books in Order

Ninth House and 21 Adult Books Similar to Harry Potter

Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo

Alex Stearn is the sole survivor of a horrible homicide. While recovering in the hospital, she is offered a chance to attend Yale on a full scholarship.

She finds the Secret Societies of Yale, each practicing a unique type of magic. There are so many things about this book that I love. It is filled with magic, unlike anything you have ever read before. It has fantasy, secret societies, magic, and mystery. I could not put it down.

This book about secret societies is definitely at the top of my list and it is perfect for fans of dark academia. If you are a huge fan of Leigh Bardugo, this is her first adult book and we could not help compiling a list of books just like it. If you are reading Leigh Bardugo books in order, you can read these at any time since they are not part of the Greishaverse. However, you need to read this book before Hell Bent.

Hell Bent by Leigh Bardugo

Hell Bent by Leigh Bardugo

Hell Bent is the second book in the Alex Stern Series (or Ninth House Book 2). I loved the first book so much, I could not wait to read this and it did not disappoint. Often, the second book is not as good but true to Leigh Bardugo’s style, she is able to build worlds and characters that keep getting better and better with each book. This pick was an obvious choice for books like Ninth House

This book picks up shortly after Ninth House ends. Alex is Determined to bring Darlington back from hell. All she has to do is find a gateway, open it, steal a soul, and return without getting herself and everyone else killed. Simple, right? This book was non-stop action and I loved every second. Ninth House and Hell Bent are my two favorite dark academia fantasy books.

Books Like Ninth House

10 Books Like Ninth House and More Dark Academia Fantasy Books

Fantastic fiction for Leigh Bardugo lovers!

Did you read Leigh Bardugo Books in Order?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.