The Best Books Like Fourth Wing: 14 Fantasy Novels

Fantasy Books Like Fourth Wing

If you love fantasy books then you have definitely been hearing about Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros. It is the fantasy book of the year (decade) and is a must-read. However, if you have already read it and are waiting desperately for the second book in the Empyrean Series then you need a list of books like Fourth Wing to keep you occupied until the November release date.

If you haven’t heard of Fourth Wing, it is an adult fantasy romance series that has exploded all over the internet. It is being described as a Hunger Games meets A Court of Thorns and Roses with dragons! It is an addictive, page-turning adult fantasy book that is the first in the Empyrean Series. You will absolutely suffer from a Fourth Wing book hangover when you’ve finished.

There are not many fantasy books like Fourth Wing, but we’ve rounded up our favorites below.

The second book in the series, Iron Flame, will be released in November 2023.

*Books Like Fourth Wing Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you.

Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros

Fourth Wing

Fourth Wing (Empyrean Series Book #1) by Rebecca Yarros

If you have not heard of this book and love fantasy, this is the book for you. Don’t be intimidated by the length of this dragon book for adults, I started and finished this 528-page bad boy in a day and a half. I cannot remember the last time I did that!

Violet Sorrengail had spent her life studying to be a scribe until her father died and her mother, the commanding general, ordered her to join the dragon riders. Violet will become one of the hundreds of candidates who fight to the death to be a part of this elite group.

Unlike the other candidates who have worked towards this their whole lives, Violet is small and brittle and never meant for this to be her path. And other candidates do not have the children of rebel leaders waiting to take revenge.

This adult fantasy book has everything and I loved every second. It lives up to the hype and then some. There are some very spicy parts of this romance toward the end so I would agree with the adult rating on this book!

Find this book in Adult Fantasy Books / Fourth Wing Series in Order / The Best Books Like Fourth Wing / Grumpy Sunshine Romance

iron flame

Iron Flame (Empyrean Series #2) by Rebecca Yarros

Nobody thought that Violet Sorrengail would survive her first year at Basgaith never mind become one of the most powerful riders the college had ever seen.

Now, in her second year, the real training begins with a new vice commandant who is determined to break Violet down and manipulate her to betray Xaden. But, Violet is learning just how powerful she really is.

Violet has discovered a secret about Basgaith War College that was hidden for centuries and now, she has to trust her iron will to save everyone.

The first 30% of the book is really setting the stage for the events in the rest of the book. To say that I am left with questions is an understatement. I may even love Fourth Wing book 2 more than I loved the first one.

Fourth Wing Books in Order

Fourth Wing Series in Order: 5 Fantasy Books to Obsess Over!

Love Fourth Wing? Check out this post for more series information.

Books Similar to Fourth Wing

Dargon Books // Fantasy Series // Fantasy Romance Books //

YA Fantasy Books

Dragon Books Like Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros

If you love all things dragons, Fourth Wing definitely does not have a shortage of that. We gathered up a few more Dragon books for adults. These books should keep you occupied while you are waiting for the next book in the Empyrean Series.

game of thrones

A Game of Thrones: Song of Ice and Fire by George RR Martin

This is a book that I learned about after I watched the series on HBO. In my case, watching the show first helped me remember (and put a face to) the plethora of characters within this series.

Truth be told, I still needed reminders now and then. Winter is coming. The House of Stark is preparing for winter after a centuries-long summer. They must prepare to defend themselves from the creatures behind the wall.

There is no way to briefly summarize this epic world-building, historical fantasy with powerful women, an intricate, captivating story, and more. While dragons are not the main focus of the book, if you are looking for dragon books for adults and you loved Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros, this series should be next on your list of books to read.

His majestys dragon

His Majesty’s Dragon (Temeraire) by Naomi Novik

I cannot believe that I had not heard of this epic series by Naomi Novik. I love her most recent books and stumbled upon this series after hearing someone talk about it.

Captain Laurence is serving in the British Navy when his ship captures a French ship with a dragon egg. Knowing that the dragon must receive its master immediately, Capt. Laurence becomes that master. Suddenly, Laurence and the dragon, Temeraire, find themselves in the Aerial Corps trying to defeat Napoleon and his army. This epic historical fantasy series is a must-read and perfect if you are looking for books like Fourth Wing.

Joust

Joust: Dragon Jousters Book #1 by Mercedes Lackey

Dragons! It’s all about the dragons! Mercedes Lackey is a respected name in the fantasy world and, while this series was written more recently than her Heralds of Valdemar series, she clearly hasn’t lost a step.

This series is more Egypt-inspired rather than the classic medieval and focuses on the characters both humans and dragons, while also building out the world of the Titans and the Altans, the two warring peoples, and the slave boy who challenges it all. And have I mentioned the dragons?! If you are looking for books similar to Fourth Wing, this pick from dragon books for adults has it all.

Back to top

Addicting Fantasy Series Like Fourth Wing

If you love Fourth Wing because it is an addictive fantasy series, these fantasy books similar to Fourth Wing will have you hooked. We have read and loved the books in these addictive series and we think you will love them as well.

THrone of Glass

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

This epic book series from Sarah J. Maas was started when Sarah was still a teenager! It’s all about Celaena, an imprisoned assassin who is offered freedom by acting as the champion for Prince Dorian.

As she prepares to earn her freedom in the competition, she begins training sessions with the captain of the guard. As she tries to acclimate to court life, the prince is drawn to her, and a love triangle forms.

The YA fantasy series gets better and better with each book! A total must-read if you are looking for books like ACOTAR and a must-read if you love fae books. Or head over to our guide on all of Sarah J. Maas’s books.

Children of blood and bone

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha, #1) by Tomi Adeyemi

I really enjoyed this book and the original story within the pages.  I listened to the amazing audiobook and I loved listening to the story the way that the story was intended to sound. 

When magic disappeared from Orisha, Zelie’s world changed forever.  When the king ordered all the Maji killed, Zelie was left without a mother or magic.  She is on a quest to find revenge and bring magic back to Orisha.

This is one of the fantasy books like Fourth Wing that builds a whole new world and brings fantasy to a whole new level.

The Atlas

The Atlas Six by Olivie Blake

There are so many twists and turns to this fantasy dark academia novel, I am not sure where to begin. I do know that I will be reading the next book!

The Alexandrian Society members are the guardians of knowledge from the greatest civilizations that have ever existed. Six of the most brilliant magical academicians are chosen every decade to take their place in this secret society. Five will go on the secure a life filled with all the wealth and power they could dream of.

When the candidates of this decade are chosen, they each have powerful abilities that could lead to greatness or destruction. When The Society may not be everything it appears, will they have to knowledge and the ability to recognize it before it is too late? This is one of the books about secret societies that has an almost cult-like following and is an urban fantasy book you will not want to miss.

If you are looking for books like Fourth Wing that are completely addictive, this is the series for you.

Ninth House and 21 Adult Books Similar to Harry Potter

Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo

Alex Stearn is the sole survivor of a horrible homicide. While recovering in the hospital, she is offered a chance to attend Yale on a full scholarship.

She finds the Secret Societies of Yale, each practicing a unique type of magic. There are so many things about this urban fantasy book that I love. It is filled with magic, unlike anything you have ever read before. It has fantasy, secret societies, magic, and mystery. I could not put it down.

This book about secret societies is definitely at the top of my list and it is perfect for fans of dark academia. If you are a huge fan of Leigh Bardugo, this is her first adult book and we could not help compiling a list of books just like it. But when we were thinking of addicting fantasy books similar to Fourth Wing, we new this needed to be on the list.

Back to top

Fourth Wing Special Black Edges

Fourth Wing Merch We Love to Obsess Over in 2024

Special editions, apparel, home goods, and book accessories are all included in this list!

Fantasy Romance Books Similar to Fourth Wing

If romantasy is your thing, than we know that you love Fourth Wing! But, if you have read both Fourth Wing and Iron flame and are now stuck, these are some of our favorite fantasy romance books that you will love!

a court of mist and fury

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Move over, Tamlin, there is a new leading man in my life. Rhysand is literally the epitome of a book boyfriend. Strong, charismatic, funny, and sexy as hell. Feyre is a hell of a heroine too – a badass heroine that would make Katniss Everdeen proud. I loved how she found her inner strength in this book and I can’t wait to see where their story takes us in book 3!

Be warned though – this fantasy series doesn’t have many sex scenes, but the sex scenes they have are quite explicit. I would not recommend this series for those under 18. If you are looking for books like Fourth Wing, this addicting series is an amazing choice. You can see an entire list of 18 Sensational Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses.

fall of ruin and wrath

Fall of Ruin and Wrath (Awakening Book 1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Where do I even begin with this book? This book was the perfect fantasy romance book. Calista has a talent for understanding people and knowing their intentions. She lives with the Baron of Archwood as a courtesan, a favored one because of her gift. When Calista’s intuition tells her to save someone, she realizes she has had previous contact with this prince.

Now, she is the prince’s companion and feels inextricably drawn to him. The kingdom is in trouble, her safety is in danger, and she must choose between her intuition and her heart. This is a dark romance unlike any other I have read. It is also quite spicy!

The world-building is perfect and intertwined throughout this fast-paced, must-read book. I cannot wait to read the rest of this fantasy series #gifted

Spice Level: Graphic sexual content
Why I Like This Book: I love Armentrout’s world-building. This is a dark romance that is spicy with a deep story line that has only just begun. I cannot wait to read the next book in this series.
Find this book In: Fantasy romance books similar to Fourth Wing / Best Paranormal Romance Books

Demons Guide to Wooing a Witch

Demon’s Guide to Wooing a Witch

This is the second book in a supernatural romance series but you do not need to have read the first one to enjoy this paranormal romance book. As fantasy romances go, this one is very steamy with some interesting takes on the sex drive of a demon. Let’s just say that this one is not for the faint of heart.

Calladia knows exactly who she is and who she is not- the debutante that her mother the mayor would like to show off. When she saves someone from a demon attack, she is mortified to find out that it is Astoroth, a member of the demon high counsel who tried to kill her best friend.

Now, he has no memories and she is stuck with him until they can find a cure for his memory loss. #gifted

Spice Level: A Lot of graphic sexual content
Why I Like This Book: While this book is very steamy, it has funny parts as well. I love the creatures in this book as well as the changes in the characters.
Find This Book In Paranormal Romance / Books Like Fourth Wing

Back to top

YA Books Like Fourth Wing

If you loved Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros and are looking for a few YA books similar to Fourth Wing, these books will be right up your alley. We have some dystopian books as well as a dragon series and a fantasy series with a kick ass heroine for you to love.

hunger games

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

This is the first book in the Hunger Games series and it is epic! In the aftermath of what was once North America, there are 12 Districts surrounding the capital.

Each year, each district sends one boy and one girl to fight to the death in a competition called “The Hunger Games”. Katniss Everdeen volunteers as a tribute to save her younger sister, Prim, from certain death in the games where it is kill-or-be-killed.

Why We Love This Book: This sci-fi book has everything but at its heart, it is a book about family, love, and survival. This young adult book has a heart while making you turn the pages!
Find this book in Books Like the Hunger Games / Young Adult Fantasy Series / Books About Sisters / Sci-Fi Books / Books Like Fourth Wing / YA Dystopian Novels

divergent

Divergent by Veronica Roth

In this trilogy, Chicago society is divided into factions dedicated to a particular virtue: Candor, Abnegation, Dauntless, Amity, and Erudite. On a selected day, all 16-year-olds gather to choose their faction.

Beatrice must choose between staying with her family and becoming who she was meant to be. This first book in the trilogy is unlike anything I had read. It drew me in and kept me turning the pages until the end. Of course, nothing is as it seems in this dystopian YA Fantasy.

Find this book in Books Like the Hunger Games / Books Like the Selection / YA Dystopian Novels

Eragon

Eragon (Inheritance Cycle #1) by Christopher Paolini

Eragon, a 15-year-old boy, believes that he is merely a farm boy until one day, he discovers a polished blue stone in the forest. When the stone hatches and a dragon emerges, Eragon enters a world full of magic and power that he never knew existed.

Eragon discovers that he is a dragon rider, one of the few left.  This middle-school fantasy series is a world of dragons, magic, and power.  Almost a “Dragon Masters” for the more mature reader, this series will take you into a world of fantasy you won’t forget. This is another pick on our list of YA fantasy books that are technically middle-grade but worth the read.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir and more of the best fantasy books for teens

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

I had heard so much about this teen fantasy book that is considered one of the 100 best YA books of all time and could not wait to read it. very often, I find that books do not live up to the hype and this is NOT the case with this book.

Laia is a scholar who witnesses her grandparents’ murder and the capture of her brother at the hands of the Masks, a brutal army of the Empire. Laia makes a deal with the rebels to spy in exchange for rescuing her brother.

Elias is a Mask, the commandant’s son and soon to be in a competition to become the Emporer himself. All he wants is to be free of the death and tyranny that the Empire’s military academy has drilled into him for the last 15 years.

Elias and Laia find their paths colliding and must learn to depend on each other. Set on opposite sides of a conflict, these two have a lot to overcome and find trust, friendship, and love? This is the first book in the series and I cannot wait to read the next book.

Back to top

Fourth Wing Merch

Love Fourth Wing? You’ll probably love this swag too!

Which of the best books like Fourth Wing will you read while waiting for Iron Flame?

YA Fantasy Header 1

Ultimate List of YA Fantasy

If fantasy books are your favorite books, then these are the perfect books for you while you wait for book #2 in the Empyrean series. We carefully divided them into sub-genres.


Is Fourth Wing Part of a Series?

Fourth Wing

Yes! Fourth Wing is Part of the Empyrean Series by Rebecca Yarros. Fourth Wing is an adult fantasy romance series that has exploded all over the internet. It is being described as a Hunger Games meets A Court of Thorns and Roses with dragons!


Is There a Sequel to Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros?

Iron Flame

YES!!! And thank goodness for that. The second book in the Empyrean Series is called Iron Flame and it is set to be released in November. Rebecca Yarros had been teasing the cover reveal.


Why Do I Keep Hearing About Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros?

fourth wing cover

Fourth Wing is an adult fantasy romance series that has exploded all over the internet. It is being described as a Hunger Games meets A Court of Thorns and Roses with dragons! It is an addictive, page-turning adult fantasy book that is the first in the Empyrean Series.

The May 2nd, 2023, first edition of the book has beautiful stenciled flying dragons on black sprayed page edges and mapped endpapers. This edition is almost impossible to find.

Fourth Wing 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.