17 Books like Harry Potter for Kids Obsessed with Magic

Books like Harry Potter for Kids
17 Books like Harry Potter for Kids Obsessed with Magic 21

The love of Harry Potter books has continued now for over 20 years. And every reader faces the same problem after completing the series for the first time – What are books like Harry Potter for kids?

Well, don’t worry! We’ve rounded up loads of books like Harry Potter for kids of all ages. You’ll see mostly middle-grade books on this list, but we do have a few witch books for younger siblings of Hogwarts-loving bookworms.

Looking for Harry Potter Books for Adults? Check Here or for more Harry Potter Articles, Check out all of our Harry Potter articles and book lists here.

*Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you. Some books have been gifted. All opinions are our own.

Books like Harry Potter for Kids: Younger Readers

heidi

Heidi Heckelbeck Has a Secret by Wanda Coven

These early readers have large type, cute pictures but are definitely not short on fun.  Heidi seems like a regular eight-year-old girl but, she is a witch.  

She may not be ready for Hogwarts quite yet, but with  21 books in the series, she is keeping herself occupied in the meantime.  This series is perfect if you are looking for books like Harry Potter for kids.

dragon breath

Dragonbreath by Ursula Vernon

Dragonbreath is a graphic novel that is funny, engaging and perfect for a little witch or wizard who would like to encounter dragons a little less menacing than the ones Harry encounters. If you love books like Harry Potter for kids, this is a perfect first graphic novel.

Kingdom of Wrenly and more of the best books for a 9-year-old

The Kingdom of Wrenly by Jordan Quinn

This series of early readers has pictures on almost every page and easy to read language.  The Stories, however, are fun and full of adventure.

They are sure to keep your child engaged with fairies, trolls, and mermaids. With all the creatures in this series, these are perfect books like Harry Potter for kids.

lion witch

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

This is a classic tale of four siblings who step through a wardrobe and into the land of Narnia.  This story is one of the original fantasies with witches, talking lions, and creatures galore.

Like Harry Potter, there is fantastical world-building. It’s also been made into a series of movies to enjoy after reading. If you love those aspects than these are the perfect books like Harry Potter for kids.

Books like Harry Potter for Kids: Tween Readers

Below are books like Harry Potter for kids that are geared toward a reading level similar to Harry Potter. These are middle-grade and young-adult books with appropriate content.

You’ll find other well-known worlds, series about gods, and other addicting fantasy novels for older readers.

The Secret of Platform 13

The Secret of Platform 13 by Eva Ibbotson

Does your kid love the Hogwarts Express? if so, this is a perfect pick from books like Harry Potter for kids. Because this book features another magical world where the gateway is in a railroad station.

It features a wizard, an ogre, a hag, and a fey all sneaking around trying to save a prince who’s been kidnapped. It’s a stand-alone book, not part of a series, and my son gobbled it up in two days.

TUesdays at the Castle 1

Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica Day George

If the changing staircases, room of requirement, and secrets passages are your child’s favorite parts about Hogwarts, this series is the perfect pick from books like Harry Potter for kids.

Princess Celie lives in an ever-changing castle that adds new rooms every Tuesday. She eagerly maps out each new addition that might just end up saving her family when danger heads to their home.

Tale of Magic and other books like Harry Potter for kids.

A Tale of Magic by Chris Colfer

Brystal Evergreen finds out that she can perform magic when reading a book from her library, but women aren’t supposed to read!

When she is sentenced to a correctional facility, she was quickly whisked away to an academy where she can learn magic! My kids devoured this middle-grade fantasy as quickly as Chris Colfer’s last series. While no correctional facility could be as bad as Azkaban, this series is a perfect pick for books like Harry Potter for kids.

Pennyroyal Academy and other books like Harry Potter for kids.

Pennyroyal Academy by M. A. Larson

Pennyroyal Academy is a school for princes and princesses to learn to battle evil witches and dragons. A different take on Hogwarts, wouldn’t you say? If you are looking for books like Harry Potter for kids, this will give you a whole new perspective on magic!

if the magic fits

If the Magic Fits (100 Dresses) by Susan Maupin Schmid

Featuring an enchanted castle with a closet full of 100 dresses, this is a story for magical fashionistas.

Each magical dress allows Darling Dimple to be instantly disgusted as someone else. What sorts of adventure will Darling Dimple get into with these 100 dresses? Hogwarts is definitely a castle full of magic which makes this a perfect pick from books like Harry Potter for kids.

Nevermore and other books like Harry Potter for kids.

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend

Morrigan Crow discovers a magical city in this story perfect for Harry Potter fans, particularly those that like Goblet of Fire. This is a perfect pick from books similar to Harry Potter for 10-year-olds

Morrigan is chosen to compete for a spot in the most prestigious organization in the city. She must complete 4 difficult and deadly tasks in order to make it into the Wundrous Society.

Which Witch and other books like Harry Potter for kids.

Which Witch by Eva Ibbotson

This is a totally different tale by Ms. Ibbotson. My son didn’t love it because he isn’t that into romance.

This book is about a handsome wizard who announces a contest to marry the meanest witch of all, but our heroine is a charming and nice witch who can’t be mean. Think of the bachelor with witches for preteens. Not for my son, but your child might love it! if you are looking for books for kids who love Harry Potter, this is a great pick.

the alchemyst by michael scott

The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by  Michael Scott

Yes, we are talking about the same Nicholas Flamel from HP. He really existed, passing away in 1418…. but what if he made the elixir of life and has been living all these years?

This is another addicting set of books like Harry Potter for children.

Magyk and other books like Harry Potter for kids.

Magyk by Angie Sage

Septimus Heap is the seventh son of a seventh son.  He disappears the night that he is born and his parents are told he is dead.  

That night, his father finds a baby girl in the snow.  This story sets up the adventures for the rest of the series with magic, adventure, and bravery.  It’s one of our favorite books similar to Percy Jackson.

The Land of Stories and other books like Harry Potter for kids.

The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer

While this story is about the land of fairy tales, think Little Red Riding Hood and Cinderella, it has the element of magic and wonder that Harry Potter fans will love.  

Alex and Connor’s grandmother gives them the family book of fairy tales.  Before they understand what is happening, they find themselves transported into the book.  They set off on an adventure to get back home

Middle grade fantasy header

Best Fantasy Books for Tweens and Middle Grade Fantasy Readers

Are you looking for more books for kids who love Harry Potter? This is the perfect list of more than 45 books

Books For Kids Who Love Harry Potter: Adapted

percy jackson

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

I don’t think there is a boy (or girl) out there who has read this middle grade fantasy series and not loved it. It is the only series that can compare to Harry Potter in terms of how much my son LOVES it.  

This first Percy Jackson book is about our beloved Percy, who discovers he is a demi-god and must recover Zeus’s stolen lightning bolt. He travels into the underworld to locate the lightning bolt and, at the same time, try to save his mother.

His amazing adventures with Annabeth and Grover along the way create the foundation for all the books that follow in this amazing and epic series. This show has been adapted to TV on Disney and is fantastic!

Find this book in Books like Percy Jackson / Epic Guide to Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson Books

Perfect for fans of Harry Potter / Keeper of the Lost Cities / Tween & Teen Fantasy Books

17162156

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

This series is full of magic and mystery.  The amazing combination of fiction with antique photographs leads to a truly unique story.

In this story, Jacob travels to a remote Island off the coast of Wales searching for answers.  What he finds are more questions.

the school of good and evil 1

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

You might want to bump this series to the top of your reading pile because it’s becoming a movie starring some big-name actors.

Sophie thinks her history makes her a good fit for the School of Good like Cinderella and Snow White before her. Agatha is thinking the School of Evil is a better fit for her. But when the opposite schools are assigned to each girl, they need to figure out who they really are and where they belong.

Did you find any books like Harry Potter for the kids in your life?

If you want to pair them with cute Harry Potter gifts, check out this post too!

Harry Pot Harry Potter books in order, The Harry Potter series

Harry Potter Books in Order: Complete Guide to the Series in 2023 +PDF

If you love Harry Potter, you need to check out our complete guide to the series and it’s spin-off books!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

3 Comments

  1. A teacher recommended The Seven Stones by author Robb Arbuckle and my son loves it even more than Harry Potter. It is a beautifully told story that combines elemental magic with a coming of age of a boy living in the cellar of a lost and found who comes to learn the truth about who he really is.