16 Books Like the Love Hypothesis to Obsess Over

books like the love hypothesis
16 Books Like the Love Hypothesis to Obsess Over 20

The Love Hypothesis is a phenomenon and has started a STEM romance wave. We created this amazing list of books like The Love Hypothesis so you can overcome that book hangover.

Love the enemies-to-lovers trope? What about workplace romances? We have them all right here!

*This post, Books Like the Love Hypothesis contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you.

Books Like the Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

Olive Smith is a Ph.D. student who does not believe in her ability to be in love. When her best friend develops a crush on someone she dated briefly, she decides to kiss the first man she sees in order to prove she is over him.

That one kiss happens to be with THE Adam Carlsen, an academic genius. The two decide to fake-date and what starts out as pretend, becomes something more- for Olive. I loved this fake dating, office romance novel and it has a well-earned spot on its list of the best romance novels of all time.

Books like The Love Hypothesis with Characters in STEM

kiss quotient

The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang

I was definitely not prepared for this book.  Reader beware that it is the Rosie Project with a sprinkle of Pretty Woman and a whole lot of 50 Shades. 

It is not offensive in the least but, I listened to this one, and let me say that I am very glad that my kids were not in the car.  I did not realize that some of the scenes would be graphic. 

It is a great romance with a neurodiverse main character and I loved it. This contemporary romance is definitely on its way to classic status and has a well-earned place on our list of books like The Love Hypothesis.

Rosie Project

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

You know how this book is going to end even before you start reading it.  However, that does not make the journey any less enjoyable.  I found it to be cute and endearing.

Don Tillman is autistic and, as he’s the narrator, we get to listen to every unfiltered thought he has in his quest to find a wife. He approaches this in a scientific way and was a perfect pick for books like The Love Hypothesis. Don is also a character who reminded me of another favorite. If you loved this book, you can find more like it on our list of Charming Books Like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

A brush with Love and more march 2022 novel ideas

A Brush With Love by Mazey Eddings

Harper is a dental student who has worked so hard over the past three years to get into the best oral surgery program in the country. She will not let anyone or anything stand in her way. Her determination and grit remind me of Olive and this book needs to be included on a list of Books Like The Love Hypothesis.

When Harper crashes into Dan, a first-year dental student, everything changes. Despite being determined to stay “just friends”, Harper is finding that harder every day.

I enjoyed this pick from our list of romance books. There are detailed descriptions of Harper’s anxiety which at times is completely debilitating. I liked the fact that this book looks at anxiety and depression as a part of these characters without glossing over the realities.

get a life chloe brown

Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

This was a book that I totally enjoyed.  I read reviews that people didn’t like Chloe.  They thought she was whiny and annoying.  I completely disagree. 

I thought that she was funny, quirky, and had more depth than I initially thought.  It is a well-written romance with a little more story than I usually find in this genre and for this reason, I thought it was a perfect book for a list of Books like The Love Hypothesis.

Work Romances Books Like The Love Hypothesis

Book Lovers

Book Lovers by Emily Henry

Nora is a literary agent who is a shark for her clients. Her life is books and will stop and nothing for her job or her little sister, Libby.

When Libby begs Nora to take her to Sunshine Falls, the setting of one of her most famous books, she reluctantly agrees. When they get there, the town does not look anything like the book describes. In addition, her literary nemesis, book editor Charlie Lastra is in Sunshine Falls.

Now, Nora and Charlie find themselves together in a plot twist neither of them could see coming. This amazing romance about books is perfect for our list of Books Like The Love Hypothesis and is a must-read if you loved the book.

The Ex Talk and other book reviews in February 2021 Novel ideas

The Ex-Talk by Rachel Lynn Solomon

Thanks to Berkley for my review copy. All opinions are my own. I picked up The Ex-Talk because I wanted to read a romance by a Jewish author. I loved that this one featured a biracial, interfaith couple.

The concept was cute – two radio show hosts fake a relationship to try to get ratings. Except they are pretending they already dated and broke up… which eventually leads to them actually dating. It was a cute, easy read. This is an office romance novel that is perfect for books like The Love Hypothesis.

if i never met you

If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

In this romance, Laurie is completely blind-sided when her partner of 18 years leaves her without warning.  When her ex’s new girlfriend becomes pregnant within months of the breakup, Laurie is devastated. 

When Laurie gets stuck in an elevator with Jamie (the office ladies’ man), they devise a plan.  Laurie can get back at her ex and Jamie can get a promotion by showing he has a respectable girlfriend.  But, as time goes by, it is harder to draw the line between fake and real. This is another office romance novel that is perfect for a list of books like The Love Hypothesis.

Weather girl 2

Weather Girl by Rachel Lynn Solomon

I’m an avid weather lover, so this was one of my most anticipated Winter 2022 new releases!

In this romance novel, weather girl Ari teams up with sports anchor Russ to get their feuding bosses back together Parent-Trap style. This sweet and hilarious office romance novel is perfect for a list of books like The Love Hypothesis as well.

Along the way, they kindle sparks of their own! There are lots of fun weather puns, adorable scenarios for both romantic pairs, and love scenes that aren’t for the faint of heart🔥🔥🔥.

The best part of all is that the book deals with REAL life issues like depression, body image, teen pregnancy, and complex families. 

If you love workplace romances, head over to our post 14 Hot Office Romance Books You Need to Read Now for more.

Enemies to Lovers Books Like The Love Hypothesis

it happened one summer

It Happened One Summer by Tessa Bailey

When I learned that Tessa Bailey used Schitt’s Creek’s Alexis as her inspiration for Piper, I knew I had to read this romance.

After getting in trouble one-to-many times for her party-girl lifestyle, Piper and her sister are banished back to their late father’s hometown in Washington.

While she’s learning to be responsible and money-conscious for the first time in her life, she needs to try not to fall for a local fisherman, Brendan. This is such a great pick for enemies-to-lovers books and it is perfect for books Like the Love Hypothesis.

Red White and Royal Blue

Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

We don’t think about royals and the LGBTQ community because we don’t usually see openly gay royals, which is so sad in today’s society.

This charming romance is one of the enemies-to-lovers books we recommend most often- it was absolutely adorable. I crushed hard for their romance and found myself smiling the entire time. (Also love the nod to a female president…where do I sign up for one of those?) 

If you love everything royals and romances as much as we do, check out 16 Sexy Royal Romance Books.

Bringing Down the Duke

Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmoreir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=786fd9bb0ce960d6800a116b865ccac2& cb=1570557553497

Evie Dunmore’s debut novel spanned a series of badass women during the Suffragette era. While the story is a romance, don’t let that fool you! You’ll get a history lesson on the suffrage movement in English History as well as a lesson on Estate and Inheritance laws — which were still of utmost importance a few decades later when Downton Abbey takes place.

Annabelle Archer has the scholarship to be one of the first women to study at Oxford. In order to keep it, she must spy on the Duke of Montgomery and try to persuade him to the suffragette’s cause. The chemistry between these two crackled off the page in this romance. If enemies-to-lovers books are up your alley, this book is perfect for you and it is perfect for a list of books like The Love hypothesis.

Pride Prejudice and other flavors

Pride, Prejudice and Other Flavors by Sonali Dev

This book was my choice for a classic adaptation and I loved it.  Food and romance are at the center of this book and I thought that it was done so well. 

It has all the classic conflicts of Pride and Prejudice with a fresh new spin that made the book so relatable and easy to read. The conflicts make it perfect for books like The Love Hypothesis.

If you love Enemies-to-lovers books, we have an entire post!

Fake Dating Books Like the Love Hypothesis

wedding date

The Wedding Date by Jasmine Guillory

This was such a fun read- it was perfect to take with me for a weekend away.  When Alexa gets stuck in an elevator with Drew, she makes the crazy choice to accompany him as a fake wedding date to a wedding the next day.  If you love fake dating books, this is one of the books like The Love Hypothesis you must read.

What she didn’t account for was the fact that there might be some real attraction between them.  She is a good girl and he is a commitment-aphobe.  Can they make it work?

The Dating Dare

The Dating Dare by Jayci Lee

For the last two years, I have been emotionally dependent on romance books to take me away from the reality of the pandemic. Every time I think that things are looking up, I am thrown for a loop.

Tara does not do relationships because one heartbreak is enough. But, when she meets her best-friends new brother-in-law, sparks fly between them.

Suddenly, Tara finds herself in a dare to date the gorgeous and tempting Seth Kim without falling in love. This book was everything that I hoped it would be.

More Books Like the Love Hypothesis

Lessons in Chemistry and more goodreads choice awards 2022 books

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

April 2022 GMA Book Club Pick

I don’t even know where to begin with this unique story. Elizabeth Zott is a chemist in the 50s when women were expected to know their place in society — their place being the kitchen and the home.

Elizabeth struggles to be taken seriously in her field and as a single mother, that just won’t due. So when an offer to host a cooking show for women is put in her path she reluctantly takes it.

She uses her no-nonsense attitude and chemistry principles to teach the women in America to not only cook but to follow their dreams outside of the home.

Zott is a quirky character like Eleanor Oliphant with a charming daughter and a dog whose inner monologue is as quirky as hers. An absolutely wonderful read! You can find this book on our list of Books Like The Love Hypothesis as well.

love on the brain

Love on the Brain by Ali Hazelwood

Bee is a brilliant and unconventional scientist who lives by a strict code “what would Marie Curie Do?” She even has a secret Twitter account to help other female scientists in a male-dominated workplace.

When she is offered her dream job at Nasa, she cannot wait to start until she realized that she is not the lead scientist. She is the co-lead with her work nemesis Levi Ward. To make matters worse, he seems to be sabotaging everything that she tries to do. Could there be a better pick for enemies-to-lovers books?

Ali Hazelwood does an amazing job of writing office romances while still including the struggles that women have to deal with on a daily basis. This book was a clear choice for Books Like The Love Hypothesis.

Is Romance your favorite genre? We created the Ultimate List of Romances carefully divided by sub-genre so you can find your next favorite read.

Are there more books like The Love Hypothesis we should add to this list?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.