Books like Bridgerton: 14 Love Stories for Obsessed Fans

Books like Bridgerton
Books like Bridgerton: 14 Love Stories for Obsessed Fans 23

Like the rest of the world, we are eagerly awaiting the newest installment of Netflix’s smash-hit Bridgerton. We’ve got a round up books like Bridgerton to get us through as we wait for Anthony’s love story to be adapted to the screen.

*Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you.

Books like Bridgerton
Books like Bridgerton: 14 Love Stories for Obsessed Fans 24

What is the Bridgerton Book Series About?

Julia Quinn‘s Bridgerton series started with the love story between Daphne Bridgerton and the Duke of Hastings. Each subsequent book explored the different romances of the 8 Bridgerton siblings.

Duke and I

The Duke and I (Bridgertons #1) by Julia Quinn

I watched the show and LOVED it so much. I previously read some of the others in the series but I really wanted to read this first book and I have to say that it was my favorite. There is something about Daphne and Simon that I adore. This book is a perfect historical romance.

If you love a good book adaptation, we’ve rounded up all the books coming to screen in 2023 and beyond!

The Bridgerton Book Series in Order

While the Bridgerton siblings names go in alphabetical order by age, the books don’t go in sibling age order! Here is the list of book in order and who is the romantic lead in each.

  1. The Duke and I – Daphne Bridgerton and Simon Basset, The Duke of Hastings
  2. The Viscount Who Loved Me – Anthony Bridgerton and Kate Sheffield
  3. An Offer From a Gentleman – Benedict Bridgerton and Sophie Beckett
  4. Romancing Mr. Bridgerton – Colin Bridgerton and Penelope Featherington 
  5. To Sir Philip, With Love – Eloise Bridgerton and Sir Phillip
  6. When He Was Wicked – Francesca Bridgerton and Michael Stirling
  7. In His Kiss – Hyacinth Bridgerton and Gareth St. Clair
  8. On The Way to the Wedding – Gregory Bridgerton and Lady Lucinda Abernathy
  9. The Bridgerton: Happily Ever After – A Novella featuring matriarch Violet and epilogues for all the happy couples.
to have and to hoax
Books like Bridgerton: 14 Love Stories for Obsessed Fans 25

Steamy Regency Romance Books Like Bridgerton

My ladys choosing

My Lady’s Choosing: an Interactive Romance Novel by Kitty Curran and Larissa Zageris

What is so great about this book is that it can go anywhere you want it to. Choose your adventure…and choose your own man. It’s exactly like those books we all loved as children, except with VERY adult content.😉

You can pick as many or as few stories that you want. Personally, I found my happy ending with a Scottish man who was clearly modeled after Jamie Frasier!

Romancing the Duke

Romancing The Duke by Tessa Dare

Tessa Dare’s stories are some of my favorite romances. She always finds ways to inject humor into her books. This particular book is the first in a series in which a man dies and leaves a castle to each of our heroines, who are known spinsters.

In this story, Izzy wants to be a writer so retreats to her castle to write her novels. Meanwhile, Ransom shows up to the castle he still believes is rightfully his. Hilarity and romance ensue. I loved this romance novel based on Beauty and the Beast.

to have and to

To Have and To Hoax by Martha Waters

I loved this hilarious read. Lady Violet Grey and her husband Lord James Audrey fell in love and got married in a whirlwind romance. Five years later, they barely speak because of “the Argument”. ⁣ When Lady Grey receives a letter that says her husband is unconscious after being thrown from a horse, she rushes to his side only to find him awake and drinking in a tavern. She decides to teach him a lesson. ⁣

The story is a quick-moving battle of wills that will have you simultaneously rooting for them and wanting to smack some sense into them. ⁣It’s perfect for fans of Jane Austen.

Steamy Regency Romance Series About Siblings

Everything Forbidden

Everything Forbidden by Jess Michaels

If your favorite part of Bridgerton was the naughty bits, then this is the book for you. The Season is expensive and it was common for other male or female relatives to sponsor poor relations to help their prospects. Which is why the heroine in this story offers her, ahem… services, for the duke next door if he will sponsor her sisters.

This is a really steamy love story, so it’s not for the faint of heart. Think 50 shades level schenanigans set in historic england.

Devils Bride

Devil’s Bride by Stephanie Laurens

Much like the many Bridgerton siblings, Stephanie Laurens’ Cynster series is all about a large brood of Cynster siblings. Each book is about the love story of a different sibling.

The first one is my favorite in the series as Devil has to woo Honoria after being found in a compromising position with her. If I recall, it involved hunkering down in a wooden shack during a storm where a couple out for a stroll found them the next day.

They need to marry, but Honoria wants none of that. Devil proceeds to attempt to convince her in some with some moves that live up to his name. These books are like Bridgerton with a different set of siblings.

How to Woo a Reluctant Lady and more books like Bridgerton

How to Woo a Reluctant Lady by Sabrina Jefferies

Another series about wild siblings who refuse to be wed, except this time the Dowager Duchess (aka Gran) is threathening to disinherit the lot of them if they don’t all marry. So one by one these siblings try to outwit dear of Gran by taking fake fiances, trying to find unsuitable fiances, etc.

This particular book involves a writer with a secret identity who decides to be faux-engaged to the man who inspires her story. It’s totally Lady Featherdown vibes.

This is another series of books like the Bridgerton where the sibling dynamics take center stage too.

If you love Regency Era stories, check our Ultimate List of Historical Fiction.

Brontes Mistress
Books like Bridgerton: 14 Love Stories for Obsessed Fans 26

Regency Books for Bridgerton Fans

Reputation ny Lex Croucher

Reputation by Lex Croucher

Gossip Girl meets Pride and Prejudice? YES, PLEASE! Georgianna is thrust into the world of the Regency elite in. Lower class Georgianna is thrust into the elite circle of regency society, and it might just be her downfall.

This bitchy, riotous take on the regency era had me gasping with shock and flipping the pages at the speed of light. I would love to see this story adapted to the big (or small) screen.

Brontes mistress

Bronte’s Mistress by Finola Austin

I’m a sucker for the classics, but I don’t know much about the authors of the classics I love. Of course, I knew of the Bronte sisters, but I had no idea that they had a brother or that he was a naughty one 😉.⁣

This story was fascinating to me because while I don’t condone modern-day infidelity, I understand how women back in the day had limited options. I loved Lydia and her (selfish) views of the world around her and I felt how hard it must be to be a woman in historic times.⁣

Her antics were utterly entertaining as were the antics of her children. I was rooting for her the entire time, even when I wanted to slap her and tell her to come to her senses.⁣

Pride and Prejudice and more books like Bridgerton

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

If you love Simon and Daphne’s love story and haven’t yet read Jane Austen’s classic, well…… GET ON IT ALREADY! I’ve re-read it countless times and have seen every movie adaptation. Every Austen fan has her favorite leading man. Mr. Darcy is that man for me, but it’s Elizabeth that I love the most. Her wit and gumption have me in giggles every time. She reminds me a bit of Eloise and Mrs. Featherdown all rolled into one.

Check out our list of Pride and Prejudice retellings too!

Portrait of a scotsman

Period Romance Books Like Bridgerton

An Heiress Guide to deception

An Heiress’s Guide to Deception and Desire by Manda Collins

While this story was billed as historical fiction, it’s also a romance and a mystery! Viscount Valentine Wrackham and Caroline Hartcastle were once secretly betrothed, and now can’t stand each other.

But when Caro’s friend is kidnapped and Val’s cousin is implicated in the crime, they must work together to find the real culprit and try not to catch feelings.

It was a well-done mystery, the social commentary on women’s rights was excellent, but the romance was duller than dishwater.

The Heiress Gets a Duke and more books like Bridgerton

The Heiress Gets a Duke by Harper St. George

Like most of the rest of the world, I binged Netflix’s Bridgertons on Christmas Day. The regency romantic drama ended and I needed more! I immediately turned to this book to fill my need for a historical fiction romance.

It takes place in the Gilded Age when a Duke needs to marry an American heiress to get her dowry to help restore his estates to their former glory.

Loved this one? Check out these gilded age books.

Bringing Down the Duke

Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmoreir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=786fd9bb0ce960d6800a116b865ccac2& cb=1570557553497

Evie Dunmore’s debut novel spanned a series of badass women during the Suffragette era. While the story is a romance, don’t let that fool you! You’ll get a history lesson on the suffrage movement in English History as well as a lesson on Estate and Inheritance laws — which were still of utmost importance a few decades later when Downton Abbey takes place.

Annabelle Archer has the scholarship to be one of the first women to study at Oxford. In order to keep it, she must spy on the Duke of Montgomery and try to persuade him to the suffragette’s cause. The chemistry between these two crackled off the page in this romance. If enemies-to-lovers books are up your alley, this book is perfect for you and it is perfect for a list of books like The Love hypothesis.

Books like the Selection
Books like Bridgerton: 14 Love Stories for Obsessed Fans 27

More Books for Bridgerton Fans

The Season and more books like Bridgerton

The Season: A Social History of the Debutante by Kristen Richardson

I was looking for a non-fiction read when I stumbled across the gorgeous cover of this book. I’m a huge fan of the period romance and have read my fair share of coming-out parties, debutante balls, and other aristocratic functions.

I thought this book would help me understand more about the customs of the monied elite. Books like Downton Abbey and others on this are filled with references to the rules of society that his book explains.

I learned all I would ever need to know on the topic. I found it to be interesting but at times a bit dry, still it gave me a better understanding of the crazy rules.

The Selection and more books like Bridgerton

The Selection by Kiera Cass

So you might be confused as to why a fantasy book is on a list about books like Bridgertons. The Season is brutal in the Regency Era. Women and men alike, are fighting over the best prize of the season….and they are ruthless. Remember when the Duke gave attention to Daphne and all the suitors came back? Exactly.

The Selection is the same. Except all the women are competing on a reality show to marry the prince and become the queen. There is sabotage, loads of ball gowns, and a sweet love triangle. If you loved the Duke, you will love Maxim.

If this intrigues you, we’ve got a whole list of books like The Selection.