Books like Bridgerton: 15 Love Stories for Obsessed Fans

Books like Bridgerton

Did you catch the Bridgerton Craze? Like the rest of the world, we are eagerly awaiting the newest installment of Netflix’s smash-hit Bridgerton. We’ve got a round-up of books like Bridgerton to get us through as we wait for Colin’s love story to be adapted to the screen.

Season three is set to air on May 16th, 2024. Season one was the perfect fake dating situation and season two was enemies to lovers! What will season three bring? Well, what would be the fun in spoiling that?

Interestingly, season three of the hit series is actually the fourth book, Romancing Mr. Bridgerton. This was one of my favorite books from the Bridgerton series. If you have already read the series and are looking for more, don’t worry, we have you covered!!

*Books Like Bridgerton Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you.

What is the Bridgerton Book Series About?

Julia Quinn‘s Bridgerton series started with the love story between Daphne Bridgerton and the Duke of Hastings. Each subsequent book explored the different romances of the 8 Bridgerton siblings.

Duke and I

The Duke and I (Bridgertons #1) by Julia Quinn

I watched the show and LOVED it so much. I previously read some of the others in the series but I really wanted to read this first book in the Bridgerton book series and I have to say, it was my favorite.

There is something about Daphne and Simon that I adore. This book is a perfect historical romance. The Netflix book adaption smashed records and caused a boom in book sales.

Daphne Bridgerton is the fourth of eight children and is beginning her first season in the ton. As young women of marrying age search for a husband, Daphne is not quite like other girls. When the eligible Simon Bassett suggests they fake date to allow them both a chance to breathe, things do not always go as planned. And to make matters more complicated, Lady Whistledown always seems to know the truth and the information ready for everyone to read.

If you love a good book adaptation, we’ve rounded up all the books coming to screen in 2023 and beyond!

The Bridgerton Book Series in Order

While the Bridgerton siblings’ names go in alphabetical order by age, the books don’t go in sibling age order! Here is the Brigerton book series in order and who is the romantic lead in each.

  1. The Duke and I – Daphne Bridgerton and Simon Basset, The Duke of Hastings
  2. The Viscount Who Loved Me – Anthony Bridgerton and Kate Sheffield
  3. An Offer From a Gentleman – Benedict Bridgerton and Sophie Beckett
  4. Romancing Mr. Bridgerton – Colin Bridgerton and Penelope Featherington 
  5. To Sir Philip, With Love – Eloise Bridgerton and Sir Phillip
  6. When He Was Wicked – Francesca Bridgerton and Michael Stirling
  7. In His Kiss – Hyacinth Bridgerton and Gareth St. Clair
  8. On The Way to the Wedding – Gregory Bridgerton and Lady Lucinda Abernathy
  9. The Bridgerton: Happily Ever After – A Novella featuring matriarch Violet and epilogues for all the happy couples.
Bridgerton Books in Order

Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton Books in Order: Complete Guide to 20 Books

Can’t get enough Bridgerton? Check out this guide to all the books!

to have and to hoax

Steamy Regency Romance Books Like Bridgerton

My ladys choosing

My Lady’s Choosing: an Interactive Romance Novel by Kitty Curran and Larissa Zageris

What is so great about this book is that it can go anywhere you want it to. Choose your adventure…and choose your own man. It’s exactly like those books we all loved as children, except with VERY adult content.😉

You can pick as many or as few stories as you want. Personally, I found my happy ending with a Scottish man who was clearly modeled after Jamie Frasier! This is a perfect pick for books like Briderton as well as books like Outlander. If you are looking for steamy romance novels set in Scotland, this is your pick.

Romancing the Duke

Romancing The Duke by Tessa Dare

Tessa Dare’s stories are some of my favorite historical romances. She always finds ways to inject humor into her books. This particular book is the first in a series in which a man dies and leaves a castle to each of our heroines, who are known spinsters.

In this story, Izzy wants to be a writer so retreats to her castle to write her novels. Meanwhile, Ransom shows up at the castle he still believes is rightfully his. Hilarity and romance ensue. I loved this grumpy sunshine romance novel based on Beauty and the Beast and it is another perfect pick for books like Bridgerton.

to have and to

To Have and To Hoax by Martha Waters

If you loved the Bridgerton book series then you will love this book. Lady Violet Grey and her husband Lord James Audrey fell in love and got married in a whirlwind romance.

Five years later, they barely speak because of “the Argument”. ⁣ When Lady Grey receives a letter that says her husband is unconscious after being thrown from a horse, she rushes to his side only to find him awake and drinking in a tavern. She decides to teach him a lesson. This is one of the best romantic comedy books I have read. ⁣

The story is a quick-moving battle of wills that will have you simultaneously rooting for them and wanting to smack some sense into them. Will they get their second chance at love? ⁣This is a rom-com book at its finest. It’s perfect for fans of Jane Austen and will not disappoint.

Steamy Regency Romance Series About Siblings

Everything Forbidden

Everything Forbidden by Jess Michaels

If your favorite part of Bridgerton was the naughty bits, then this is the book for you. The Season is expensive and it was common for other male or female relatives to sponsor poor relations to help their prospects. This is why the heroine in this story offers her, ahem… services, for the duke next door if he will sponsor her sisters.

This is a really steamy love story, so it’s not for the faint of heart. Think 50 shades-level shenanigans set in historic England and is perfect for fans of the Bridgerton book series.

Devils Bride

Devil’s Bride by Stephanie Laurens

Much like the many Bridgerton siblings, Stephanie Laurens’ Cynster series is a set of historical romances about a large brood of Cynster siblings. Each book is about the love story of a different sibling.

The first one is my favorite in the series as Devil has to woo Honoria after being found in a compromising position with her. If I recall, it involved hunkering down in a wooden shack during a storm where a couple out for a stroll found them the next day.

They need to marry, but Honoria wants none of that. Devil proceeds to attempt to convince her in some with some moves that live up to his name. These books like Bridgerton have the same feel, but with a different set of siblings.

How to Woo a Reluctant Lady and more books like Bridgerton

How to Woo a Reluctant Lady by Sabrina Jefferies

This pick in books like Bridgerton is another series about wild siblings who refuse to be wed, except this time the Dowager Duchess (aka Gran) is threatening to disinherit the lot of them if they don’t all marry. So one by one these siblings try to outwit dear old Gran by taking fake fiances, trying to find unsuitable finances, etc.

This particular book involves a writer with a secret identity who decides to be faux-engaged with the man who inspires her story. It’s totally Lady Featherdown vibes.

This is another series of books like the Bridgerton where the sibling dynamics take center stage too.

If you love Regency Era stories, check out our Ultimate List of Historical Fiction.

Bronte's Mistress and more books Like Bridgerton

Regency Books for Bridgerton Fans

ana maria and the

Ana María and the Fox by Liana De La Rosa

Ana María and her sisters have been sent to London to hide from the conflicts in Mexico. As she tries to adjust to London’s high society, she finds herself enamored with a no-nonsense politician.

Gideon and Ana María’s love story was a breath of fresh air. Typically regency romances don’t address the diverse members of the ton. Witnessing Ana María’s struggles to fit in made me realize how much depth many historical romances set in this time period lack.

It is possible to have a searing love story set in a romanticized time period while still addressing the social issues of the day. I’m looking forward to the rest of the Luna sisters’ love stories.

Brontes mistress

Bronte’s Mistress by Finola Austin

I’m a sucker for the classics, but I don’t know much about the authors of the classics I love. Of course, I knew of the Bronte sisters, but I had no idea that they had a brother or that he was a naughty one 😉.⁣ How could i not read this pick from novels about writers?

This story was fascinating to me because while I don’t condone modern-day infidelity, I understand how women back in the day had limited options. I loved Lydia and her (selfish) views of the world around her and I felt how hard it must be to be a woman in historic times.⁣

Her antics were utterly entertaining as were the antics of her children. I was rooting for her the entire time, even when I wanted to slap her and tell her to come to her senses.⁣

Always Be My Duchess by Amalie Howard

Always Be My Duchess by Amalie Howard

I have a thing for historical romance books like Bridgerton, so I knew I had to read the first in the Taming the Dukes series that Amalie Howard wrote.

Lord Blackstone needs a faux-fiance to secure a land deal, and he stumbles upon the perfect partner in out-of-work ballerina, Geneviève. We all know what happens in faux-dating romances, and yet, it’s still satisfying when the couple falls in love EVERY TIME.

I’m looking forward to the next one in this series and is a perfect pick for our ultimate list of beach reads 2023!

Mr. Malcolms List

Mr. Malcolm’s List by Suzanne Allain

This Regency romance is perfect for fans of the Bridgerton book series. There was something about the plotting and scheming that is so much fun.

Mr. Malcolm has a list of qualifications that he needs in a woman before he can consider marrying her. Julia, feeling spurned, decides to get her revenge. She invites her school friend Selina to come and stay with her for the season. The plan? to have Mr. Malcolm fall for Selina and ultimately be rejected himself. This is an adorable romance that is also available to watch on Amazon Prime.

Pride and Prejudice and more books like Bridgerton

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

If you already read the Bridgerton book series and love Simon and Daphne’s love story and haven’t yet read Jane Austen’s classic, well…… GET ON IT ALREADY! I’ve re-read it countless times and have seen every movie adaptation.

Every Austen fan has her favorite leading man. Mr. Darcy is that man for me, but it’s Elizabeth that I love the most. Her wit and gumption have me in giggles every time. She reminds me a bit of Eloise and Mrs. Featherdown all rolled into one.

YA Romance Books Like Bridgerton

davenports and more beach reads 2023

The Davenports by Krystal Marquis

What a fun read! I was eager to start a new Historical fiction romance series and the cover of this one drew me right to it.

The Davenports is a Gilded Age story about a successful Chicago Black family who made a name for themselves after slavery was abolished. Now the talk of the season, the three Davenport children are all looking for their spouses and trying to buck societal norms in the process!

Be warned! This YA historical romance book ends on a cliffhanger and the book is perfect for our list of beach reads 2023.

the selection 1

The Selection by Kiera Cass

We have talked about this series so many times for a reason.  It is so much fun- think Hunger Games meets the Bachelor. It’s a reality TV royal match-making contest in a dystopian world.

But, in this case, the bachelor also happens to be the future king.  Can you imagine if William held a contest to see who would be the future princess?

Why We Love This Book: This is one of our favorite books about royals. It also happens to be the reason that Beyond the Bookends exits, but that is an entirely different story.
Find this book in Books Like The Selection / Ultimate List of YA Fantasy / Books Like ACOTAR / Books Like the Hunger Games/ YA Dystopian Books

reputation and more YA historical fiction

Reputation by Lex Croucher

Gossip Girl meets Pride and Prejudice? YES, PLEASE! Georgianna is thrust into the world of the Regency elite in. Lower-class Georgianna is thrust into the elite circle of regency society, and it might just be her downfall.

This bitchy, riotous take on the regency era had me gasping with shock and flipping the pages at the speed of light. I would love to see this story adapted to the big (or small) screen like the Bridgerton book series.

Check out our list of Pride and Prejudice retellings too!

Portrait of a scotsman and more books like Birdgerton

Period Romance Books Like Bridgerton

The Heiress Gets a Duke and more books like Bridgerton

The Heiress Gets a Duke by Harper St. George

Like most of the rest of the world, I binged Netflix’s Bridgertons on Christmas Day. The regency romantic drama ended and I needed more! I immediately turned to this book to fill my need for a historical fiction romance.

It takes place in the Gilded Age when a Duke needs to marry an American heiress to get her dowry to help restore his estates to their former glory. This is the perfect book to read if you are looking for books like Bridgeton.

Loved this one? Check out these Gilded Age Books.

Bringing Down the Duke 1

Author: Evie Dunmore

Year: 2019

Genre: Political Romance

More info: Book 1 of 4 from A League of Extraordinary Women

Spice Rating:💋💋💋

Age Range: 18+

Evie Dunmore’s debut novel spanned a series of badass women during the Suffragette era. While the story is a romance, don’t let that fool you! You’ll get a history lesson on the suffrage movement in English History as well as a lesson on Estate and Inheritance laws — which were still of utmost importance a few decades later when Downton Abbey takes place.

Annabelle Archer has the scholarship to be one of the first women to study at Oxford. In order to keep it, she must spy on the Duke of Montgomery and try to persuade him to the suffragette’s cause.

The chemistry between these two crackled off the page in this romance. If books are up your alley, this book is perfect for you. I loved Dunmore’s portrayal of strong women who stuck to their guns.

Find this book in: Enemies-to-Lovers Books / Books Like The Love Hypothesis / Historical Romance Novels / Books like Bridgerton / Fiction Books About Women in Politics

Books like the Selection

More Books for Bridgerton Fans

The Season and more books like Bridgerton

The Season: A Social History of the Debutante by Kristen Richardson

I was looking for a non-fiction read when I stumbled across the gorgeous cover of this book. I’m a huge fan of the period romance and have read my fair share of coming-out parties, debutante balls, and other aristocratic functions.

I thought this book would help me understand more about the customs of the monied elite. The references to the rules of society made this perfect for a list of Books like Downton Abbey but also for a list of books like Bridgerton because the rules play such an important role in the Briderton book series.

I learned all I would ever need to know on the topic. I found it to be interesting but at times a bit dry, but still it gave me a better understanding of the crazy rules.

The Women of Rothchild

The Women of Rothschild by Natalie Livingstone

Natalie Livingstone laid out the rise of the Rothschild family through the lens of the women in the family. Each of the women profiled left an indelible mark on their legacy and success.

Meticulously researched, and spanning two centuries, this non-fiction book had me yearning to watch Downton Abbey or another period drama to immerse myself in the various eras.

Fake Dating

Fake Dating Books: 19 Novels to Love

If you are looking for books like the Bridgerton series and loved The Duke and I, here are more fake dating books!

enemies to lovers

Best Enemies-to-Lovers Books to Read Now

If the second season of Bridgerton was your perfect romance and are looking for more romance novels like the Bridgerton book series, check out this post

Bridgerton Gear

If this intrigues you, we’ve got a whole list of books like The Selection.