21 Books like Pride and Prejudice & More Jane Austen Retellings

Books like Pride and Prejudice

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a female reader obsessed with the Regency era must be a Jane Austen fan. With all the modern books like Pride and Prejudice being published, it’s clear we all have a thing for Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy.

But it’s not just Pride and Prejudice getting retold and expanded upon. All of Jane Austen’s classics have been adapted, reworked, or rewritten for modern audiences.

As a fellow Janeite, a sure fire way to get me to buy a book is to bill it as a retelling of Jane Austen’s works….so I’ve read quite a lot of books like Pride and Prejudice. I’ve listed them all below along with other books about Jane Austen or stories inspired by her works.

*Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you. Some books have been gifted. All opinions are our own.

Longbourn and other books like Pride and Prejudice

Table of Contents

Books like Pride and Prejudice

Longbourn

Longbourn by Jo Baker

I’m a sucker for a Jane Austen adaptation so I was eager to read this story about the servants at Longbourn, home to the Bennett sisters.

It was a love story that definitely focused on the people behind the scenes, without many appearances by the famed characters of Pride and Prejudice.

I liked that we got a brief look into Elizabeth’s life as Mrs. Darcy, but I really did enjoy the servants’ stories.  I’d recommend this one for fans of Downton Abbey for sure.

Mr. and Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy

Mr. and Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy by Sharon Lathan

This story picks up where Pride and Prejudice left off and continues the love story of Elizabeth Bennett and her beloved Mr. Darcy.

We get to see their wedding, their wedding night and honeymoon, and even the birth of their first child. I loved seeing Mrs. Darcy acclimate to life as the mistress of Pemberley.

My ladys choosing

My Lady’s Choosing: an Interactive Romance Novel by Kitty Curran and Larissa Zageris

What is so great about this book is that it can go anywhere you want it to. Choose your adventure…and choose your own man. It’s exactly like those books we all loved as children, except with VERY adult content.😉

You can pick as many or as few stories that you want. Personally, I found my happy ending with a gruff aristocrat who was clearly modeled after Mr. Darcy!

If you like these books like Pride and Prejudice, you might like these books for Bridgerton fans.

Mystery Pride and Prejudice Retellings

Death Comes to Pemberley

Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James

This story takes place a few years after Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy get married. While the Darcys are preparing for a ball, Lydia comes hurtling up the drive claiming that Wickham has been murdered.

Soon the whole family, along with the Bingleys, are plunged into the investigation and its aftermath. If you love Austen and British mysteries, this historical mystery book is perfect for you!

pride and premeditation and more YA historical fiction books

Pride and Premeditation by Tirzah Price

This Pride and Prejudice retelling is actually a murder mystery! In this version of the story, Mr. Bennett is a barrister and Lizzie is desperate to prove herself and be the first female barrister.

But while she offers to help Mr. Bingley find the real culprit of the murder he’s been accused of, she ends up butting heads with her rival, Mr. Darcy of Pemberley and Associates.

This delightful take on the classic story was a refreshing and fun historical mystery book. I look forward to reading the rest of the ya historical fiction retellings in this series.

Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe

Modern Pride and Prejudice Retellings

The Wrong Mr. Darcy

The Wrong Mr. Darcy by Evelyn Lozada

I’m a sucker for a good pride and prejudice retelling. This particular one revolves around NBA basketball stars and their wives and girlfriends. In the beginning, it was fun to figure out which character matched up to Austen’s classic, but then the plot and characters definitely departed from the well-known text of the original.

It was a fun, and often over-the-top retelling, but don’t expect it to be accurate!

51tDhR fnwL. SX330 BO1204203200

Pride by Ibi Zoboi

I’m always down for a classic retelling of Pride and Prejudice, one of my favorite books of all time. I was particularly interested in this take because it features modern, black teenagers.

At this point in our country’s awakening, it’s important to read from diverse perspectives. I’ve never tackled a retelling from a non-white author before, but I’m so glad I did.

I absolutely adored this version. Yes, I obviously knew what would happen, but this is about the journey, people!!!

Eligible Curtis Sittenfeld

Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld

This modern take on Pride and Prejudice had me giggling multiple times. The Bennett sisters get modern updates in all the best ways.

And in this one, Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth have hate sex as part of the courting ritual which just cracked me up. Mrs. Bennett’s hysterics remain true to form and will be sure to delight.

Pride, Prejudice, and other Flavors and other books like Pride and Prejudice.

Pride, Prejudice and Other Flavors by Sonali Dev

This book was my choice for a classic adaptation and I loved it.  Food and romance are at the center of this book and I thought that it was done so well. 

It has all the classic conflict of pride and prejudice with a fresh new spin that made the book so relatable and easy to read.

Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe Melissa De La Cruz

Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe by Melissa De La Cruz

I picked up this book because I adore Pride and Prejudice and all things Jane Austen. I actually saw the Hallmark version of this book but be warned, the movie and the book are nothing alike!

Our female lead, Darcy Fitzwilliam is a workaholic, while Luke Bennett is the boy she grew up next to in their hometown of Pemberly, Ohio. As easy as it was to predict this Christmas romance story, there were a few surprises along the way.

You can see more of our favorite Christmas books here.

Ladies of the house and other books like Pride and Prejudice

More Jane Austen Retellings

recipe for persuasion

Recipe for Persuasion (The Rates #2) by Sonali Dev

November’s Reading Challenge was to read a book with a blue cover and since I loved the first book in the series so much, I could not wait to read this one.

I loved this fresh take on Jane Austen’s Persuasion. The story is a classic and this adaptation was so much fun to read.

Ladies of the House by Lauren Edmonson

Ladies of the House by Lauren Edmonson

As soon as I realized this was a classic Jane Austen retelling of Sense and Sensibility, I knew I had to read it!

This version is set in D.C. and the key characters are involved in politics. It feels very appropriate post-election. ⁣I loved seeing the connections back to Jane Austen’s original work. It’s probably one of my favorite retellings of this particular story and it’s a fun political fiction story.

Bridget Joness Diary

Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

I remember reading this contemporary fiction book shortly before it was turned into a hit movie starring Colin Firth and Renee Zellweger. This modern Pride and Prejudice retelling is told in diary form over the course of one year.

Hysterical and silly, Bridget’s antics are quite something. Mark and Daniel are deliciously brought to life via Bridget’s inner monologue. If you love the movie, try the book.

Bridget starts her diary on New Year’s day which makes in a perfect pick for books about New Year’s!

Incense and Sensibility

Incense and Sensibility by Sonali Dev

I have read all the books in this series and I am looking forward to the fourth that is coming out in May.

Yash Raje has always known what he wants and that hard work will get him there. But, when Yash is shot while on the campaign trail, he life comes crashing in on itself.

Now, having panic attacks, Yash and his family need to turn to someone they can trust to help without leaking his personal fears to the media. India is his sisters best friend and the perfect person to turn to. Can Yash forget the perfect night they had ten years ago and learn to trust himself? This romance has some depth!

Emma Retellings

Emma of 83rd street

Emma of 83rd Street by Audrey Bellezza and Emily Harding

Usually, I find Emma to be the most annoying of Austen’s characters, and my least favorite to read about. But this modern Emma retelling had me changing my mind.

For once, Emma is depicted as naive, sheltered, and young – trying to do better but not knowing the best way to grow into her adulthood. It was a refreshing take on the story, which was so fun to see adapted to modern-day Upper East Side Manhattan.

Why We Liked it: Nadine, George, Emma, and the rest of the crew came to life in a way that felt fresh – a true accomplishment given how well-known the story is.

The Emma Project

The Emma Project by Sonali Dev

I love that Emma gets a different twist with this adaptation. Vansh Raje takes on the role of Emma in this fresh new perspective.

If you have read Dev’s other books, these characters will be familiar to you by now. I liked this book and I love the way Dev changes the story while still being true to the heart of them. I do not love Naina and this story involves her a lot.

While we get to see things from her perspective, which makes her more likable, Dev did too good of a job making me dislike her in the last book.

Emma and more books like Pride and Prejudice

Emma by Alexander McCall Smith

In this modern retelling of Emma, our flighty heroine is preparing to launch her interior design firm. All the characters we know and love are brought into the 21st century in a delightful way.

If you love Emma, you must pick up this version!

Kamila Knows Best

Kamila Knows Best by Farah Heron

This Bollywood Jane Austen retelling of Jane Austen’s Emma is a sweet and easy-to-read book that brings Emma to life in a whole new way.

Kamila Hussain lives with her dad and is trying to keep him healthy after a few health scares. She works with him at an accounting firm and spends her free time volunteering with animals and matchmaking.

When her secret nemesis comes back to town, her world is turned upside down.

If you like these Jane Austen retellings, you might also like this list of 18 classic retellings.

The Jane Austen Society and more books like pride and prejudice

Books about Jane Austen

Jane Austen Society

The Jane Austen Society by Natalie Jenner

What a wonderful book for historical fiction lovers. Set just after WWII, a group of unlikely friends come together to save Jane Austen’s cottage.

A movie star, a farmer, a doctor, and a widow all have personal struggles to overcome. Over the course of the book, the society is able to save more than just the cottage.

I felt like each of the characters were personal friends by the book’s end. It was a lovely read to rekindle hope perfect for those looking for books about Jane Austen.

The Jane Austen project and more books like Pride and Prejudice

The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen Flynn

As part of a group of workers from the future, Liam and Rachel are sent back in time to diagnose Jane’s illness, and help her complete her next book.

I love the grittier side of this novel. It doesn’t romanticize the time period, very similar to the way Diana Gabaldon shows the harsh realities of life in the Highlands or onboard a ship at sea.

Jane and the Twelve Days of Christmas

Jane and the Twelve Days of Christmas by Stephanie Barron

Did you know there is a whole mystery series featuring Jane Austen as an amateur crime-solver? I had no idea until I stumbled upon this book which takes place over…you guessed it… Christmas.

There are a series of suspicious-looking deaths surrounding the home Jane is visiting for the winter holiday. As she strives to solve the mystery before more dead bodies show up, we are treated to a look at the Christmas traditions of Regency-era England.

Jane Austen Inspired Books

The Austen Playbook

The Austen Playbook by Lucy Parker

This cute little love story sticks an actress and her harshest critic together at the same estate. The estate in question is is owned by Griff’s family, where a theatre is hosting an Austen-Choose-Your-Own Adventure style play starring actress Freddy.

As they begin to fall in love, they uncover family secrets that affect them both. It’s cute and sappy, and it was a breath of fresh air for me during a stressful week.

513x C0SojL. SX329 BO1204203200

The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler

This book (and the movie it inspired) is just plain fun! 5 women and one man get together for 6 months to discuss Jane Austen’s works.

In the process, they find friendships, heartbreak, and love. If you are a fan of books about Jane Austen, you must read this!

Austenland and other books like pride and prejudice

Austenland by Shannon Hale

Jane Hayes is an utter romantic who is unlucky in love. She compares every man she’s interested in to Mr. Darcy and they all come up wanting.

When a relative sends her to Austenland, an estate in the countryside made for Janeites, she gets to experience the Regency era for her own. Will she be able to find love or will she find out that she’s more of a modern woman at heart?

A weekend with Mr. Darcy and other books like Pride and Prejudice

A Weekend with Mr. Darcy by Victoria Connelly 

Katherine, a professor, loves Jane Austen and smutty Regency romance novels. She decides she deserves a much-needed break and heads off to a Jane Austen conference in the gorgeous English countryside for a break… there she finds a delicious Darcy look alike. Will she find love on vacation?

This was not the best Austen adaptation I have read, but it was fluffy and fun. I don’t really remember much but it left me feeling warm and gooey, so there ya go.

More books like Pride and Prejudice

Did you find any Jane Austen retellings or books like Pride and Prejudice to add to your home library?

Beautiful Jane Austen Gifts and Box Sets for 2023

If you love Jane Austen-inspired books, check out these gifts!

Jane Austen Gifts 1
Jane Austen Gifts

Jane Austen Books in Order: A Terrific Guide for 2023 (+PDF)

If you love these Jane Austen retellings, try out the originals!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.