29 Books like Outlander for Fans of the Hit Series

Books like Outlander
29 Books like Outlander for Fans of the Hit Series 32

Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander is the kind of novel that leaves you with a book hangover. Immediately upon finishing the series, or the Starz adaption, we find ourselves looking for more books like Outlander.

Jamie Fraser is the ultimate book boyfriend, and Claire Randall is the kick-ass heroine we need more of in our lives!

Before we get to the books like Outlander, we give a quick rundown of the other books by Diana Gabaldon, and then list more than 2 dozen books perfect for Outlander fans!

*Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you.

Table of Contents

Books in the Outlander Series in Order

It can be a little confusing to know what Outlander books come in what order. Here is the info which includes the newly released Go Tell the Bees that I am Gone.

  • Outlander
  • Dragonfly in Amber
  • Voyager
  • Drums of Autumn
  • The Fiery Cross
  • A Breath of Snow and Ashes
  • An Echo in the Bone
  • Written in My Own Heart’s Blood
  • Go Tell the Bees that I am Gone
Outlander

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

This epic story begins in 1945 when Claire Randall and her husband take a second honeymoon to the Scottish Highlands to celebrate being reunited after the war. When Claire touches one of the standing stones, she is transported to 1743.

This is when the real story begins. In order to stay safe as an English women in Scotland, she must depend on Jamie Frasier for protection. Amazing history, magical realism, romance and witches overflow in this iconic epic saga.

More Books by Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon has made a name for herself with the Outlander series, she even wrote a graphic novel that we adore. In addition, she has penned more novellas based on the Outlander series including a spin-off series about Lord John Grey.

The Exile and other Books like Outlander

The Exile: An Outlander Graphic Novel by Diana Gabaldon

This is a graphic novel told from Murtaugh and Jaime’s perspectives covering the first half of the Outlander book, right up until the point where Claire needs to decide if she will go back through the stones.

It’s fun to see certain scenes from a different perspective, but the ending is what really got me!

Clanlands and other Books like Outlander

Clanlands by Sam Heughan and Graham McTavish (forward by Diana Gabaldon)

This hysterical book is part history and part comedy. Stars of the Outlander TV series, Sam Heughan (who plays Jamie Fraser) and Graham McTavish (AKA Dougal MacKenzie) go on a road trip with each other.

Along the way, they tell funny stories and experience Scotland’s rich heritage. I laughed out loud multiple times at their antics, and then promptly watched their show Men in Kilts on Starz.

Highlander Romance Novels

The English Bride in Scotland and other Books like Outlander

An English Bride in Scotland by Lynsay Sands

The arranged marriage of the English lass to the Clan chieftain in this romance novel was very reminiscent of Claire and Jamie’s wedding….and wedding night.

This is a steamy love story that focuses on the newlyweds finding how their relationship will mesh, while navigating the terrifying person hellbent on hurting them.

When A Scot Ties the Knot

When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare

This historical romance is equally parts sexy and funny. A london heiress invents a Scottish betrothed to get her out of social obligations.

She writes to her intended, one Captain MacKenzie, but when a real-life man comes to her home, letters in hand, things get interesting.

My Lady's Choosing and other Books like Outlander

My Lady’s Choosing: an Interactive Romance Novel by Kitty Curran and Larissa Zageris

What is so great about this book is that it can go anywhere you want it to. Choose your adventure…and choose your own man. It’s exactly like those books we all loved as children, except with VERY adult content.😉

You can pick as many or as few stories that you want. Personally, I found my happy ending with a Scottish man who was clearly modeled after Jamie Frasier!

Scottish Romance Novels

Highland games and other Books like Outlander

Highland Games by Evie Alexander

Zoe deciding to pack up her London life and move into the rustic, decrepit cabin on a castle estate her uncle left for her when he died. The problem is Rory, the castle’s caretaker, wanted the cabin for himself.

Rory starts messing with Zoe to get her to leave Scotland, but when he realizes he needs her help, sparks fly! This is the first in a new series about Rory and Zoe and their Scottish hometown.

It was charming, funny, STEAMY, and heartwarming. I personally can’t wait to read the next book in the series. I loved this so much it made our best books of 2021 list!

Potrait of a Scotsman

Portrait of a Scotsman by Evie Dunmore

This particular romance is set in 1920s England and is the third in Ms. Dunmore’s women’s suffragette series. Hattie Greenfield, artist extraordinaire, is forced into marriage with Lucian Blackstone, a self-made man (V frowned upon by nobles at the time.)

While the romance itself is swoon-worthy, it’s the depth of non-romantic topics that make it a joy to read. I learned so much about the coal industry and the perils to coal communities in the process.

The DEvil and the Heiress

The Devil and the Heiress by Harper St. George

The follow-up to Harper St. George’s Gilded Age romance series was another fun pick featuring the younger Crenshaw heiress.

This time, Violet Crenshaw, looking to escape and arranged marriage to an odious man, looks to the Earl of Leigh to help her escape to Scotland. But the Earl has a different plan with the bubbly lady he wishes to call his own.

Finding Fraser and other Books like Outlander

Finding Fraser by KC Dyer

This is an adorable read about a woman who goes to Scotland to find her man. The criteria- he has to look and be like Jamie. This is one of the cutest books like outlander on this list.

That shouldn’t be too hard, should it? Isn’t every man tall, handsome and completely perfect? Instead of finding her Jamie…she ends up finding her inner Claire instead. Totally cheesy but very fun for any Outlander fan.

Historical Fiction Set in Scotland

The Vanished Days

The Vanished Days by Susanna Kearsley 

The Vanished Days is set between 2 timelines, 1707 and 1684. Lily makes a claim of marriage to a deceased soldier looking for her pay, but without proof of her marriage, Adam needs to investigate if he claim could be real.

Set against the backdrop of the Jacobite rebellion, this is perfect for the Outlander fans of the world! I was engrossed in this story…then I got to the end, was shocked, and wanted to read the whole thing again!!

Wild Wood

Wild Wood by Posie Graeme-Evans

This was such a unique story! After getting knocked in the head Jesse, normally right handed, is able to draw with her left hand a place she’s never been to in her life.

Her neurologist has been to the sweeping keep, he lived there for years, and so he decides to bring her home with him on holiday to see if he can get to the bottom of it.

Meanwhile, in the dual timeline of 14th century Scotland, Bayard is investigating a mystery of his own. The way the two stories meet at the end was masterful.

Some Like it Plaid and other Books like Outlander

Some Like it Plaid by Angela Quarles

In this story, our hunky future chieftain leaves 1st century Scotland for 2019 San Francisco to catch himself a wifey, whom he promptly teleports back to Scotland (Druid magic IDK) and shenanigans ensue.

Funny, romantic, and totally cute, this is one of my favorite books like Outlander.

the lost queen

The Lost Queen by Signe Pike

Set in Britain when Christianity is poised to become the religion of the country, a future queen swore to the old-ways is learning how to balance the needs of her people and her religion with the role she’s expected to play.

Meanwhile, her twin brother is training to be the man history knows as Merlin. The first in a new trilogy about Arthurian legend, the second book is out and quite wonderful too.

The Winter Sea and more winter books

The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley

This is a dual timeline story about the invading Jacobites in 1708 that takes place at Slains Castle. A writer from the present decides to write a story about her ancestor from this time frame and begins to live the experience herself.

There is romance, ghostly memories, and a wonderful perspective of the famous Jacobite uprising we know from Outlander.

my contrary mary

My Contrary Mary by Cynthia Hand

The latest book by this writing trio is another historical fantasy with a twist. This time it’s Mary Queen of Scot’s story that gets the magic treatment.

Mary can transform at will to a mouse, but she needs to keep is a secret as shape-shifting is frowned upon. Can she be the Queen the country needs, win Francis’s heart, and keep her secret?

Time Travel Books like Outlander

A Knight in Shining Armor

A Knight in Shining Armor by Jude Deveraux

This set-up is the same as Outlander but in reverse! In the first part of the book, Dougless accidentally summons an Earl from the 16th century to modern England! When it comes to books like Outlander, this is a great one to start with!

Dougless vowels to help return Nicholas to his own time, but not before trying to help him figure out who framed him for treason in his own era. But when he’s sent back and nothing changes, Dougless needs to head back to his time and try to save his life.

The attention to detail in the 16th century was reminiscent of Diana Gabaldon’s work. Its a total must-read for fans of Jamie and Claire’s love story.

The Librarians

The Librarian by Christy Sloat

This is the perfect book for fans of Outlander! When Emme’s grandmother dies, she agrees to take over Gram’s library despite plans to head to college abroad.

When she opens a book from Gra’s special collection, she finds herself face to face with Jack Ridgewell in  1892 England.  Emme is part of an elite group of women who can travel to the past through books.  This brings a whole new meaning to book boyfriend.

Scribe of Siena

Scribe of Siena by Melodie Winawer

A perfect summer read about a neurosurgeon who is transported back to Siena in the time of the plague.  The narrative makes me feel like I am in Italy.  

Depicted as Outlander meets Girl with a Pearl Earring, at its heart, it is a love story. I could not put it down and finished it as a perfect start to the summer reading season.

rose garden by susanna kearsley

The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley

I read this book in only a few days because I loved it so much.  After Eva’s sister dies, she heads back to Cornwall, England to find peace and rest. 

What she discovers is more than she expects when she finds herself inexplicably back in time.  As her heart begins to feel again, can she find a way to heal her broken heart and find love?

We have a dozen more books set in charming Cornwall, England on this book list.

The Jane Austen Project

The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen Flynn

As part of a group of workers from the future, Liam and Rachel are sent back in time to diagnose Jane’s illness, and help her complete her next book.

I love the grittier side of this novel. It doesn’t romanticize the time period, very similar to the way Diana Gabaldon shows the harsh realities of life in the Highlands or onboard a ship at sea.

The Time Traveler's Wife and other books about libraries

The Time Traveler’s Wife By Audrey Niffenegger

Clare and Henry have an unusual love story. They’ve known each other since Clare was six and Henry was thirty-six, but got married when Clare was twenty-three and Henry was thirty-one. You see, Henry is an adventurous librarian who inadvertently travels through time.  

I adore how this story explores very real challenges that any couple faces. With the added time travel element, it become an unforgettable read.

While I realize there is only the loose librarian connection to this book list, Henry and Clare’s story is one of my all-time favorites and it shouldn’t be missed. 

Epic Love Stories Similar to Outlander

Juliet and other Books like Outlander

Juliet: A Novel by Anna Fortier

I ADORE this story and have read it numerous times. What if Shakespeare’s Juliet was real and was actually a curse? Alternating between the “real” Juliet’s story and her modern-day descendant’s story, the book proves that love transcends time.

I can’t put my finger on why this story makes my top 10, but it’s a comfort read that I go to whenever I need a pick me up. I re-read it again and again! It has a little bit of everything – romance, a mystery, a contemporary and historical element. It’s such a unique and amazing tale.

mists of avalon

The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley

An alternative telling of the tale of King Arthur, featuring the Lady of the Lake, Paganism vs. Christianity, and an epic struggle for power.

Merlin and the Lady of the Lake practice pagan witchcraft, as they try to keep the old ways alive against the new religion gaining popularity, the choices they make for Arthur’s kingdom inspire the tale we know so well.

The mini-series adaptation of this book is wonderful too and well worth the watch!

the clan of the cave bear with bonus content by jean m auel

Clan of the Cave Bear: Earth’s Children Book One by Jean M. Auel

This six-book series started in 1983 and ended with the final book published in 2011!  It took 28 years for everyone who loved this amazing first book to read the conclusion.

This is an epic love story between Ayla and Jondalar. in the time of cro-magnan man. My mom gave me this recommendation because she loves books like Outlander too!

bronze Horseman

The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons

This epic love story can almost rival that of Jamie and Claire. This saga takes place over decades and all over the world.  An epic love story set in WW2 Leningrad.

It was a fantastic story from a historical fiction perspective because I really learned a lot about everyday life in that era. Like Outlander, it’s a whopping 1000 pages but I couldn’t stop! This is one of the best books about WWII for romance fans.

Here are 20 more of our favorite WWII books.

Books Set in Scotland

If you fell in love with the setting of Scotland while reading Outlander, then try some of these novels to transport you to your new favorite location.

51rX35nSOkL. SX326 BO1204203200

The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan

The Bookshop on the Corner #1

This book was the first book that I read by Jenny Colgan and is different from her others.  It is not centered around food but rather, books. 

When Nina, a librarian, finds herself without a job, she decides to embark on a journey with a mobile bookshop.  There is nothing not to love in this sweet book.

Most of Jenny Colgan’s books take place in Scotland, if you want to see our list of all her books, ranked, click here.

City of ghosts

City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab

While this is technically a middle-grade book, it was SCARY.  I absolutely loved it but, it should not be read by anyone who is afraid of ghost stories. 

When Cass is rescued from drowning, she is suddenly able to maneuver between the land of the living and the other side of the veil. The boy that rescued her is a ghost and he becomes her best friend. 

Her parents are ghost hunters and then they get a job filming a tv show in Scotland, they all pack up and go, including Cass’s ghost.  What they find is scary, creepy and a fabulously fun read

Cafe by the Sea and other Jenny Colgan Books

The Cafe by the Sea by Jenny Colgan

Jenny Colgan churns out another light beach read with heart. Cafe by the Sea is set on the gorgeous island of Muir in Scotland.

Scotland shines in this story about life in a town set in its ways and trying to resist the pull of modern life. There is a romance in this story, but the pull was more on the heroine reconnecting with her old life and family.

Eleanor Oliphant and other Books like Outlander

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

I wasn’t sure how I felt about this book initially.  Eleanor bugged me in a way that I could not identify.  She is not supposed to be likable initially which is why I persevered and I ended up liking the book. 

As we get to know Eleanor and understand her profound loneliness,  it made me think about what initial judgments I make in other areas.

Outlander Merchandise

Looking for gifts for your favorite Sassenach? Check out some of these Outlander inspired Etsy items! Aren’t the fans of the series so clever?

Did you find any books like Outlander for your home library? Are we missing your favorite?

3 Comments

  1. A Knight in SHining Armor is my comfort read. I laugh, I cry. I fall in love with Nicholas. The details of Elizabethan life are fascinating and add a layer to this story that raise it above many romances. I think it is Jude Deveraux’ best book.

Comments are closed.