12 Charming Books Like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine to Love

Eleanor Oliphant

We were so excited to put together this list of books like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine because she is a character that you grow to love. When the book begins, her actions and behavior are confusing and unconventional but as the book continues, she becomes the perfect example of not judging a book by its cover.

There are so many fantastic books with fun characters that remind me of Elanor. There are

*Books Like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you.

Books Like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

The Book That Inspired the List

Eleanor Oliphant

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

I wasn’t sure how I felt about this contemporary fiction book initially.  Eleanor bugged me in a way that I could not identify.  She is not supposed to be likable initially which is why I persevered and I ended up loving the book and Eleanor. 

As we get to know Eleanor and understand her profound loneliness, it made me think about what initial judgments I make in other areas. Eleanor is able to find herself and understand herself in this wonderful, feel-good book. If you are looking for books similar to lessons in chemistry, this book is a 5-star pick.

Eleanor has difficulty with social skills and is used to being alone until one day, she saves an elderly man who has fallen with the help of Raymond from her work. The three develop a friendship that is able to help heal Eleanor.

Find This Book In: Books Like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine / Books Like A Man Called Ove/ Books about Scotland.

Romances with Characters Like Eleanor Oliphant

rules for second chances

Rules for Second Chances by Maggie North

Liz is trying to change her life and stop sitting in the wings, bending herself to fit what she thinks society wants from her. That includes working on getting her dream job and attempting a radical form of therapy to find her inner strength – improv!

Through an improv comedy class she needs to take for work, Liz makes friends and learns to champion her own ideas. When her improv teacher writes a self-help book for couples, she attempts to take the same tools and apply them to her romance with Tobin.

Why I Liked It: Improv as therapy was a new concept for me but ended up being a clever hook. The scenarios Liz and Tobin acted out were quite comical, and Liz’s overall growth and self-assurance seemed to blossom with her newfound improv skills.

Find this book in Books like Eleanor Oliphant

Rosie Project

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

You know how this book is going to end even before you start reading it.  However, that does not make the journey any less enjoyable.  I found it to be cute and endearing.

Don Tillman is autistic and, as he’s the narrator, we get to listen to every unfiltered thought he has in his quest to find a wife. He approaches this in a scientific way and was a perfect pick for books like The Love Hypothesis. Don is also a character who reminded me of another favorite. If you loved this book, you can find more like it on our list of Charming Books Like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

kiss quotient

The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang

I was not prepared for this book!  Reader beware that it is the Rosie Project with a sprinkle of Pretty Woman and a whole lot of 50 Shades. 

It is not offensive in the least but, I listened to this one, and let me say that I am very glad that my kids were not in the car.  I did not realize that some of the scenes would be graphic. 

It is a great romance with a neurodiverse main character named Stella who hires an escort to teach her about relationships and I loved it. This contemporary romance is definitely on its way to classic status and has a well-earned place on our list of books like The Love Hypothesis.

Love of my afterlife

The Love of My Afterlife by Kirsty Greenwood

Delphie has just died and is in her pj’s in the afterlife when she meets the man of her dreams. Her hilarious afterlife therapist, Merit, is obsessed with all things romance so she gives her the chance to return to her life with the caveat that she has ten days to find this mysterious man and get him to kiss her.

That would be easy except for the fact that she does not know his last name and cannot seem to find him anywhere. Even worse, her therapist seems to be hindering her progress rather than helping. Delphie reluctantly asks her grumpy downstairs neighbor to help her. Soon, Delphie is making friends, loving life, and regretting shutting everyone out her whole life.

Why I Love It: Delphie reminds me of a more loveable Eleanor Oliphant. Thanks to the love-obsessed afterlife therapist, this book is a little bit love triangle, a little bit of forced proximity, and a whole lot of laugh-out-loud rom-com!

Find This Book In: Books Like Eleanor Oliphant / Best Romantic Comedy Books / Best Romance Books 2024

Books With Characters Like Eleanor Oliphant

Convenience Store Woman and other books set in Japan

Convenience Store Woman by Sayaka Murata and Ginny Tapley Takemori (Translator)

The quirky character in this novel reminded me of Eleanor Oliphant so it was an easy pick for a list of books like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. I loved being inside Keiko’s unique mind.

Keiko has been working at the same convenience store for 18 years. Listening to her inner monologue as she tries to conform to society is at times humorous and at other times sad. I would gladly have spent another 100 pages with Keiko.

the helpline

The Helpline by Katherine Collette

I started reading this book and found that I had a really hard time putting it down.  It is one of those books where the main character is completely imperfect and often infuriating but, will grow on you!

This book is perfect for a list of books like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. If you loved Eleanor, then you will love this book.

Germaine has lost her job at an insurance company and begins working at a helpline for senior citizens.  The mayor has a side project for Germaine.  She wants Germaine to help her in the feud between the golf club and the senior citizen center.  Sometimes, as Germaine will find out, things are not always what they seem.

This pick from feel-good novels was an unexpected joy! And as books for book clubs go, this is such a great choice. Her quirky personality also makes this book perfect for books like Lessons in Chemistry.

The Very Nice

The Very Nice Box by Laura Blackett and Eve Gleichman

The quirky personality of Ava, the protagonist in The Very Nice Box, is reminiscent of Eleanor Oliphant. Being inside Ava’s unique brain was a real treat.

Ava works as an engineer at a furniture company similar to Ikea. She has the same routine every day and is rather isolated socially until Mat Putnam bursts into her life.

As her backstory unfolds, this book goes from romance to thriller in the most delightful way. One of the most original vacation books of 2021. It’s a must-read for laughs and suspense and is a perfect pick for books like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

A man called ove

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

Mr. Backman has a beautiful way of capturing the reader’s interest with wonderful characters that find themselves in hilarious situations.

I laughed out loud many times while reading. The book A Man Called Ove does indeed start with Ove trying to take his life and continuously being interrupted by his new neighbors and he mourns the loss of his spouse.

But, this story is so much more than that. As it progresses, Ove is able to have a profound impact on the life of everyone he meets, and at its heart, it is a book about friendship.

If you love this contemporary fiction book about grief, check out Books Like A Man Called Ove. But don’t let the description throw you off. At its heart, this is one of the best feel-good books and one of my all-time favorite books! If you have not read it, it is definitely one of the best book club books.

Books Like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine: Celebrity Books Club Picks

Lessons in Chemistry and more goodreads choice awards 2022 books

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

April 2022 GMA Book Club Pick

I don’t even know where to begin with this unique contemporary fiction story. Elizabeth Zott is a chemist in the 50s when women were expected to know their place in society — their place being the kitchen and the home.

Elizabeth struggles to be taken seriously in her field and as a single mother, in this amazing book. So when an offer to host a cooking show for women is put in her path, she reluctantly takes it.

She uses her no-nonsense attitude and chemistry principles to teach the women in America to not only cook but to follow their dreams outside of the home.

Zott is a quirky character like Eleanor Oliphant with a charming daughter and a dog whose inner monologue is as quirky as hers. An absolutely wonderful book about motherhood! You can also find this book on our list of Books Like The Love Hypothesis as well.

Are you looking for the perfect book for your next book club? Check out our Lessons in Chemistry Book Club Guide. If you love this book and are looking for more, we also have 15 Books Like Lessons in Chemistry.

The Maid

The Maid by Nita Prose

January 2022 Good Morning America Pick

Molly works as a maid in a grand hotel and gets joy from leaving things orderly and pristine. Molly struggles with reading social cues and has had even more trouble since her gran can no longer help.

When Molly finds a dead body in a room at the hotel, she becomes a prime suspect and will need all her friends to help her.

I loved the description of this book and I hoped it would live up to my expectations. I did that and more. I loved every minute of this book and closed the last page smiling. If love Eleanor, you will love Molly and this pick from books like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Where the Crawdads Sing and more books Like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Where the Crawdads Sing Deluxe Edition by Dehlia Owens

September 2018 Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick

I will admit when I saw the description of this book, I was not sold.  A trusted individual, who has never steered me wrong in the past, gave me an advanced copy so, I took the leap.  And wow, am I glad I did. 

I read this book and then recommended it to everyone I knew.  This book has that spark, that special something that makes it extra.  It is no surprise that we chose this as our favorite of 2018.

We have an entire post dedicated to this book and how to host a book club around it and we even have a list of 13 books like Where the Crawdads Sing! You can find this book on our List of books like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

The Cactus and more books Like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

The Cactus by Sarah Haywoodir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=9beb7c6521e0bcfabb7e449908c5b59b& cb=1580518551388

June 2019 Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick

A pick for Reese’s Sunshine Bookclub, I enjoyed this story about Susan Green’s unlikely quest for love.  When her mother dies and leaves her home to Susan’s brother, Susan decides to hire a lawyer and get what she thinks is owed to her. 

Susan also finds out that she is pregnant and she starts to lose control of her meticulously controlled life.  Meet Rob, her brother’s best friend, and the opposite of everything she has ever thought she liked before.  This quirky story is perfect for fans of Eleanor and we knew we needed it on a list of books like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

Love Celebrity Book Clubs? We do too! That’s why we created these lists of celebrity book club picks ranked. Check out our favorite Reese Witherspoon Books Club, Read and Jenna, and GMA Book Club Picks!

Which books like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine will you read next?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.