11 Delicious Fiction Books about Tea to Indulge in Now

Tea
11 Delicious Fiction Books about Tea to Indulge in Now 18

We decided to make a list of our favorite fiction books about tea because books and tea seem to go together. C.S Lewis said it best when he said “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

My ideal afternoon would be an unlimited teacup and a great book because I love them both so matcha. Kirsten and I wanted to send you positivit-tea.  We know that things have been stressful for the past few years but our hope is that we can all just get oolong.  

It is amazing how many cozy mystery series there are about tea and not all of them take place in Britain.  So, sit back, relax, and enjoy these tea-riffic books.  I’m sorry about the puns, I know it’s an earl-gray area but I thought they were pretty mug-nificent.

*This post may contain affiliate links. We get a small commission if you purchase an item from an affiliate.*

Historical Fiction Books about Tea

The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See and more fiction books about tea

The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See

The story itself is based on the history  of Pu’er, an ancient and unique kind of tea  that is found in remote areas of China.

Li-yan’s life revolves around the harvesting of the ancient tea.  When she becomes pregnant out of wedlock, tradition states that she would have to kill her daughter.  Instead, Li-yan takes the infant to an orphanage and leaves her there wrapped in a blanket and with a tea cake.  

What follows is a beautiful story about Li-yan and her daughter Hayley who has lived her life across an ocean both searching for their life purpose.  This book left me in tears of joy and sorrow.

Memoirs of a Geisha and more fiction books about tea

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

This amazing historical fiction is at the top of our list of books about tea. It is not about tea alone, but rather, it is a deep and powerful look at the life of a geisha.  Nine- year old Nitta is taken from her fishing village to learn the subtle art of becoming a geisha.  She learns how to walk,  dance, put on make-up and of course, how to conduct the Japanese tea ceremony.  This is a powerful and unforgettable book.

Love Historical Fiction? We do too! That’s why we created the Ultimate List of Historical Fiction carefully divided by time period.

The Best Fiction Books About Tea

Vera Wongs Unsolicited Advice for Murderers

Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers by Jesse Q. Sutanto

Vera Wong lives above her tea shop in Chinatown in San Francisco. When she finds a dead body in the shop, she calls the police immediately but also cleans up a bit, uses a Sharpie to trace the body, and takes the flash drive out of the man’s dead hand. She is sure that she can do a better job of finding the murderer than the police.

She comes up with a plan to find the killer and finds four suspects who she grows to care for. I loved this mystery book and have recommended this cozy book too many times to count.

Find this book in Ultimate List of Beach Reads 2023 / Books Like a Man Called Ove / Fiction Books About Tea.

Vanessa Yu's Magical Paris Tea Shop and more fiction books about tea

Vanessa Yu’s Magical Paris Tea Shop by Roselle Lim

Oh, how I loved this book. ⁣What could be better than a love story set in a Paris tea shop with a little magic sprinkled on top? This is not a complicated or unexpected story.  But what it is, is delightful, fun and lighthearted. ⁣

Vanessa Yu never wanted to see people’s future in tea leaves and spent her entire life fighting it.  She also knows that this “gift” will stand in the way of having a successful relationship because she cannot stop blurting out truths whether she wants to or not. 

When  Vanessa’s aunt offers to bring her to Paris to hone in on her skills and get her life in order, Vanessa goes.  As she finally gets to experience Paris, she wonders if she can change her destiny as well.

the tangle wood Tea Shop and more fiction books about tea

The Tanglewood Tea Shop by Lilac Mills

Stevie is a patisserie chef who has lost her job and her beloved Great Aunt Peggie.  When she gets a call from her aunts lawyer telling her that she has inherited enough money to start her own shop, Stevie leaves her life in London and moves to Tanglewood to open her own tea shop.  This is a delightful, feel good, romance that had me smiling the whole time I read it.  It was the perfect thing for a rainy weekend afternoon.

Tea House on Mulberry Street

The Tea House on Mulberry Street by Sharon Owens

This book is like the movie Love Actually except all the relationships explored in the book are centered around a lovely tea shop on Mulberry Street in London. Explore the love lives of neighbors, clients, and even the owners themselves!

contemporary fiction header

Ultimate List of Contemporary Fiction Novels to Love in 2024

For more contemporary fiction books like these, check out our ultimate list for dozens of recommendations.

HeaderTeaofthemonth

Mystery Books about Tea

Scones and bones

Scones and Bones (Tea Shop Mysteries)by Laura Childs

I had heard of this series and decided to give it a try.  I started with book #12 and had no problem immediately getting into the story.  The characters are quirky and likable even if they are a little bit cliché.  This was such a fun and easy to love cozy mystery.  I have to admit that I was hungry the entire time I read it.  There is delicious food described in detail along with combinations of tea that I would love to try.  The end of the book has recipes that I might have to try as well.

A Pocket Full of Rye by Agatha Christie and more fiction books about tea

A Pocket Full of Rye by Agatha Christie

This book is Agatha Christie at her finest, a layered murder mystery that opens with murder by tea!! If you are a mystery lover, you must read a pocket full of rye. It’s the perfect one-sitting read and one of my favorite Miss Marple books. Just no poison in your tea, ok?

Are mysteries your favorite genre? We created The Ultimate List of Mysteries carefully divided by sub-genre so you can find your next favorite read.

The Best Romances About Tea

oddest little cornish tea shop

The Oddest Little Cornish Tea Shop by Beth Good

In this little book, Charlie Bell is re-opening her aunt’s tea shop despite the rumors that it is cursed. After the first day ends in a disaster, Charlie wonders if she should have left the shop closed. Suddenly, Gideon Patherick is there to help and he just might be the key to her success.

This is a cute novella that was a one-sitting read.

A Cuban Girl's guide to tea and tomorrow and more fiction books about tea

A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow by Laura Taylor Namey

Reese’s Bookclub YA pick for November 2020

This is an adorable YA romance that had my tea loving heart at the title but, the story was sweet and had me turning the pages. But fair warning, you will be hungry while reading this book.

Lila is leaving Miami to spend the summer in England with her mom’s best friend as a way to help Lila’s mental health. With the unexpected break up with her boyfriend, her best friend leaving after graduation and the death of her beloved abuela, Lila’s life is not where she thought it would be.

Slowly, with new friends and a new city, Lila starts to see a different side of life and maybe change is ok.

Rosie's Travelling Tea shop and more fiction books about tea


Rosie’s Traveling Tea Shop by Rebecca Raisin

I started Rosie’s Travelling Tea Shop and finished it in one day. I absolutely loved this book. I just could not out it down. ⁣
⁣When Rosie’s husband declares their marriage over, she decides to leave her high pressure London job as a sous-chef in a Michelin starred restaurant and start a traveling tea shop. Rosie is used to schedules and routine- can she adapt to a new way of living? ⁣This is book filled with food, books and smiles. I loved every minute. If you need a feel good book- that may make you a little hungry- you will love this. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan.

the Little Teashop in Toky and more fiction books about tea

The Little Teashop in Tokyo

This book was so much fun to read. Fiona is a travel blogger who wins a competition and finds herself in Tokyo on an all expense paid trip.

When her mentor is unexpectedly changed to the man who broke her heart years ago, Fiona is embarrassed and needs to pretend nothing is amiss.

This book is adorable and fun and took me on a virtual trip to Japan

Is Romance your favorite genre? We created the Ultimate List of Romances carefully divided by sub-genre so you can find your next favorite read.

tea header
11 Delicious Fiction Books about Tea to Indulge in Now 19
Tea 2 1

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

4 Comments