11 Books to Read if You Loved the Lunar Chronicles

11 books to read if you loved The Lunar Chronicles

The Lunar Chronicles by Melissa Meyer is a 4 book series set in the future in a time of disease and war.  This series is part twisted fairy tale, part dystopia and part sci-fi fantasy.  Cinderella, Red Riding Hood and Rapunzel are re-imagined like you have never seen them before. All of them are smart and strong woman who are far from helpless damsels in distress. The fairy tale and dystopia parts are familiar but the sic-fi is a whole new genre for me and I have to say that I really enjoyed this series!!! I found the books at Cathy’s Half Priced Books In Haverford (you can check out that post here).  

“Vanity is a factor, but it is more a question of control. It is easier to trick others into perceiving you as beautiful if you can convince yourself you are beautiful. But mirrors have an uncanny way of telling the truth.”
― Marissa Meyer, Cinder

I actually enjoyed them so much that I thought I should put together a list of books to read if you loved this series.  Actually, If you haven’t read the Lunar Chronicles and you have enjoyed the books below, you can give the Lunar Chronicles a try. The first book, Cinder, introduces us to Cinder.  She is a cyborg (part human, part machine) who lives with her……..you guessed it….. two step-sisters and step mother.  

11 Books to read if you loved The Lunar Chronicles:

Did I like the Hunger Games Trilogy when I finally read it?

Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins– This series speaks for itself.  This series is dystopian young adult fiction at its best. Katniss Everdeen is a household name that Kirsten just discovered.  Read her review here.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom RiggsI read this entire series and I loved how Riggs integrated picture oddities into the story.  Not quite sci-fi and not quite fairy tale, this series is one of my favorite young adult reads.

The Giver by Lois Lowry–  This dystopian classic was ahead of its time. The inhabitants  of this society are all striving for “Same-ness”, but as Jonas learns about the time before, he begins to wonder if “same-ness” is really best for all.

Little Library: Fluff Reads

The Selection Series by Kiera Cass  I love this series.  This twisted fairy tale is definitely bachelor meets Cinderella. See our review here

The Maze Runner by James DashnerI listened to this on audiobook and it is perfect for a long car-ride.  This is some serious dystopia with a dash of suspense.

Divergent Series by Veronica RothI loved the first book in the series.  It is a perfect young adult dystopian thriller.  I admit that I did not love the second two books as much but that did not stop me from reading them!

The Magicians Trilogy by Lev Grossman – This fantasy trilogy revolves around a magical school and another world – Fillory. Think Harry Potter meets Narnia with a bit of hedonism, but beware, not for the younger set!

Red Queen and Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – The Reds are rebelling against their Silver blooded oppressors. The Silvers have god like powers, but the reds don’t – until Mare Barrow comes along. (review here)

Wicked: The life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire – A curious re-telling of the Wizard of Oz. This time, told by the Wicked Witch. So good it was made into a broadway play!

Briar Rose by Jane Yolen – Rebecca’s grandmother, Gemma, has always told her a different version of Sleeping Beauty than other little girls were told. When Gemma passes away, Rebecca finds out that she was a holocaust survivor. She begins a quest to find out what was true and what was a fairytale.

Princess Bride by William Goldman The ultimate in unlikely fairy tale, this is a timeless story of love, adventure, giants and princes.  

11 Books to Read if you Loved the Lunar Chronicles. Cinder by Melissa Meyer book review

 

 

 

four-stars