10 WWI Books Like The Alice Network to Read Now

WWI books like The Alice Network.

In this list of WWI books like the Alice Network, we only highlighted books that take place in WWI. We specifically wanted to look at WWI books because there just aren’t as many great ones as there are books that revolve around WWII.

For whatever reason, perhaps because it’s the most recent of the world wars, WWII books have dominated historical fiction book lists for years.

But recently, that is changing and more and more authors are releasing books about The Great War. We like to think a lot of the reason is because of the extreme popularity of The Alice Network, which is soon to be made into a movie.

As a reminder, These are ONLY our favorite WWI books. If you are looking for the spy component on this list of books like The Alice Network, you can check out our list of female spy books.

*Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you. Some books have been gifted. All opinions are our own.

Our Favorite WWI Books

The Alice Network and more WWI books like The Alice Network.

The Alice Network by Kate Quinn

July 2017 Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick

This historical fiction takes place during the First World War and after the Second World War as the story of two women come together.  One is a female ex-spy another is a pregnant single woman, and they are joined by a shady ex-con as they embark on a quest.

This was such a good book to listen to and although the subject matter was serious, there were moments when I was laughing out loud.  There was just the right amount of humor to make this a very readable book and a perfect book for book clubs to discuss.

Band of Sisters and more WWI books like The Alice Network.

Band of Sisters by Lauren Willig

This is an incredible novel about the women of Smith College who went to help French war victims on the war front. The band of 15 women in this novel is based on the 18 real-life heroes of Smith College.⁣

These ladies started from scratch to help those ravaged by war only to have the war come back and destroy the lands around them again. But they never faltered in their quest to help the war-torn villages of women and children impacted by the war.⁣ ⁣

The book gives a well-rounded feeling of what these women needed to do to save the lands and the people and is an emotional pick from books about friends.

Switchboard Soldiers

Switchboard Soldiers by Jennifer Chiaverini

I’ve been reading WWI books non-stop because I’m fascinated by the way modern warfare met traditional tactics in the Great War. I’m particularly interested in the role women played in helping the Allies.

Chiaverini brought the Switchboard soldiers (the women who operated the telephone lines) to life in the most interesting way. I loved their bonds of sisterhood, how they stayed cool under pressure, and learning just how crucial they were to the war effort.

Find this book in Book Club Books / Historical Fiction Books / Books Like Lessons in Chemistry.

WWI Books Like The Alice Network

Miss Morgans Book Brigade

Miss Morgan’s Book Brigade by Janet Skeslien Charles

Here’s an unlikely beach read recommendation – a story that takes place during the Great War. We don’t normally recommend historical fiction set during a war for the beach, but Charles crafted a story that was as hopeful as it was interesting. It touched on the darkness while highlighting the helpers of one of the darkest periods of world history.

Unlike The Women (which we do NOT recommend for a summer beach read) this story never got so bogged down in wartime sadness. Instead, we are treated to a front-row seat of the grit and determination of the women working near the front lines of France to bring normalcy and hope to innocent civilians.

Specifically in the form of books – children’s books.

Based on the true story of pioneering children’s librarian, Jessie Carson, it’s a testament to women being innovators and hope-makers. Jessie works tirelessly to train the first French female librarians, turns ambulances into bookmobiles, and uses all the resources she can muster to bring joy to the victims of war.

It’s a dual timeline narrative that also focuses on Wendy, a librarian in 1980’s New York working for the same library where Jessie got her start. She uses her research on Jessie and the American Committee for Devasted France as inspiration in her writing class, and is surprised at how similar she is to her muse.

Why I Loved It: While there were sad moments within the story, this book ultimately left me with warmth in my heart. The narrators do an excellent job bringing this story to life. #Gifted by Simon & Schuster Books

Find this book in WWI Novels / Librarian Books / Beach Reads 2024 / Best Historical Fiction 2024

fall of giants

Fall of Giants by Ken Follett

I don’t know what took me so long to listen to this story. It was absolutely captivating and could not stop listening.

This dramatic story about 5 families before and during WWI was incredible. The way Follett has woven all their stories together was dynamic and mesmerizing. The story was a little more battle and politics-focused than most WWI books I have read, but I loved learning new historical information.

This is a story that would be EXCELLENT for the men in your life too. Now if only I could get my husband to read.

Lost Roses

Lost Roses by Martha Hall Kelly

Martha Hall Kelly wrote a prequel to the bestselling Lilac Girls and features Caroline’s mother, Eliza! Set against the backdrop of WWI, this story once again features three narrators. This time the characters are American Eliza, Russian aristocrat Sofya, and Varinka a Russian peasant. 

It spans New York, Paris, St. Petersburg, and the Russian countryside. I knew little of Russia during WWI going into this book, so I was startled at how much destruction and turmoil took place during that time period.

Why We Like It: If you are a historical fiction lover, this is the book you’ll want to read. This book overlaps some characters with Lilac Girls but is a stand-alone novel.

Find this book in Friendship Books / WWI Novels

The War Librarian and more WWI books like The Alice Network.

The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong

This dual-timeline story is about both a librarian during WWI and a female cadet in the first class of women at the U.S. Naval Academy. There are so many strong women in our list of books like the Alice Network.

Both women in this story are connected in multiple ways, including being females in a trailblazing role customarily reserved for men.

While I found Librarian, Emmaline’s story to be more engrossing, I found Kathleen Carre’s struggles in the male-dominated school fascinating too. I wouldn’t mind reading a book just about the first few classes of women in various military academies.

Romance WWI Books

The Last Christmas in Paris 1

Last Christmas in Paris by Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb

This is one of the books set in Paris that you will also find on our list of books set in France and it is unlike any other. It is written entirely in letter form between two friends during WWI.

You will fall in love with the characters as they fall for each other.

Evie is struggling to find a way to help out during WWI, while Thomas, her brother’s best friend, is struggling with the realities of battle. I just recently started reading WWI books and this one is high on the list. It is such a wonderful holiday book.

Lovely War and more WWI books like The Alice Network.

Lovely War by Julie Berryir?source=bk&t=beyondth06 20&bm id=default&l=ktl&linkId=3d6ee39d2b5d0e26bc7f578d95ac9cb4& cb=1601478566491

This book’s premise had me a little skeptical, Greek Gods telling a love story set in WWI? I didn’t think it was up my alley and I didn’t think I would want to include it in my list of WWI books. I must have had it recommended to me almost a dozen times now, and now I’m the one recommending it.

It was two, sort of three, love stories in one book, but it touched on racism, PTSD, and the sacrifices of war. It was so well handled that I was sad to see it end.

Bluebird and more WWI books like The Alice Network.

Bluebird by Genevieve Graham

Taking place first in the hospital tent of the great war and then in Canada during prohibition, this historical fiction story was totally captivating!

I loved learning about the rum-runners during prohibition in Canada. It was a part of history I’d never considered before. Additionally, the love story between Jerry and Adele during prohibition and the search for the truth of their story and their descendant in the present provided the perfect balance of mystery and romance.

More WWI Book Like The Alice Network

Love Historical Fiction? We do too! That’s why we created the Ultimate List of Historical Fiction carefully divided by time period.

Are you planning to add any of these WWI books like The Alice Network to your to-read list?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

2 Comments